Artemis: A Novel

Andy Weir
The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller—a heist story set on the moon. Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Well, sort of. Life on Artemis, the first and only city on the moon, is tough if you’re not a rich tourist or an eccentric billionaire. So smuggling in the occasional harmless bit of contraband barely counts, right? Not when you've got debts to pay and your job as a porter barely covers the rent. Everything changes when Jazz sees the chance to commit the perfect crime, with a reward too lucrative to turn down. But pulling off the impossible is just the start of her problems, as she learns that she's stepped square into a conspiracy for control of Artemis itself—and that now, her only chance at survival lies in a gambit even riskier than the first.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-11-07

I had a hard time connecting with any of the characters in this book. The minute I felt like I might be starting to connect with one, something would shift and the pre-connection would go away. If I didn't have a weird thing that I have to finish every book I start, I probably wouldn't have finished it. I like to be able to connect to the characters, even if it's through a negative emotion or feeling. I didn't feel anything for any of these characters. The last couple of chapters I wanted to know what happened but that was about it.

Reviewed: 2019-09-18
10 outta 10
Reviewed: 2018-06-03
It's not The Martian Folks.

I thought that the book was a solid title as far as science fiction goes. The character development wasn't really there, and the story led from one improbable event to the next. I felt that the author was trying to take Mark Watney's character from The Martian and put it into an unlikely scenerio with overly complicated plots and sub-plots that effectively made this book tank for me. I felt that the plots contained in Artemis ultimately led me to giving it 3 stars.
Reviewed: 2017-12-19

I'm not sure why people love to criticize this book. Maybe because they had way too high expectations from this book after success of Martian. I hadn't read that book but had watched and loved the movie. And after finishing reading+listening (interchangeably) to Artemis, I have to say I equally loved this story. This book has an easy going story, well etched characters, humor and thrill, and some hard science. I'm not entirely sure how accurate the science parts are, but everything sounded plausible. That's how I want my science-fiction books to be. Every decision Jazz took was explained in the book; unlike most books where protagonist chooses a certain path because only that path furthers the plot, without any other justification. Artemis, the movie, is going to be another blockbuster.

 

A few "not so good" parts, if I have to nitpick - there are quite a few sexual innuendos and double meaning dialogues, which Jazz immediately points out too, in case the reader missed it. And multiple "You know what I mean". But they didn't take away anything from the quality of the book.

Reviewed: 2017-11-26

I didn't like it. I was excited to read the book when I found out it wasn't The Martian 2. Unfortunately that's exactly what the book reads like. An impossibly smart character working against odds to (heist and then survive) with things going really wrong every few chapters. The characters aren't developed, and in fact the main character refuses to grow in her relationships when given ample opportunity. The humor is extremely repetitive, annoying, and very juvenile. The way the author reminds the reader that the character is female is by constant references to sex, boyfriends, etc., and the character is Muslim and Arabic only for diversity reasons, nothing in the plot or the character development references it. Like other media I have indulged in recently, there's a nugget of good story here, but it's buried by the humor, the cardboard characters, and the "you're so stupid I can't believe you didn't know this" science.

Item Posts
@trevq1
@trevq1 began #artemisanovel... on 2020-06-16
@momo05
@momo05 completed #artemisanovel... on 2018-10-12
@momo05
@momo05 began #artemisanovel... on 2018-10-10
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters completed #artemisanovel... on 2018-05-07
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters began #artemisanovel... on 2018-04-21
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl completed #artemisanovel... on 2019-02-03
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl began #artemisanovel... on 2019-01-29
@ttp
@ttp began #artemisanovel... on 2018-08-14
@ttp
@ttp completed #artemisanovel... on 2018-09-25
@grubby44
@grubby44 completed #artemisanovel... on 2017-11-24
@grubby44
@grubby44 began #artemisanovel... on 2017-11-23
@amilligan
@amilligan completed #artemisanovel... on 2018-01-25
@amilligan
@amilligan began #artemisanovel... on 2018-01-24
@jenwesner
@jenwesner completed #artemisanovel... on 2018-01-26
@jenwesner
@jenwesner began #artemisanovel... on 2018-01-25