Champion: A Legend Novel

Marie Lu
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?     June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion. New York Times bestseller YALSA BFYA ALA Top 10 nominee Chicago Public Library Best Book VOYA YA Perfect Ten List Bank Street Best Book Featured on Entertainment Weekly’s Must-List   From ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: “Fine writing and excellent execution. Sequel, please!” From THE NEW YORK TIMES: “Legend doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it.”   From USA TODAY: “Marie Lu’s dystopian novel is a ‘Legend’ in the making.”

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-07-02

10 YEARS! 10 BLEEPING YEARS!!!!!!! Are you trying to kill me? The last fourth of the book or so was extremely tense and I had so many bad scenarios playing through my head. While it didn't go as horribly as some of the scenarios played out, I just, I can't even. I am sobbing my eyes out right now. I get the endings where the characters pretend to start over or something, but this was TOO MUCH!!!! Just kill me know, I swear. Also, I'm typing this review up at 11:00 at night because I will get no sleep until I do. *takes a deep breath*

The story is dual POV between June and Day. June is awesome and kick butt and, after what she pulled at the end, I want to kick HER butt. That said, she is seriously and awesome protagonist. She's lost her entire family, but she still gets back up. She sacrifices so much for everyone else, especially Day, very rarely thinking about her own good. Seriously, those sacrifices lead to over 10 years of heartbreak. 10 YEARS! (And no, I won't stop obsessing over that) Day is the male protagonist. I can't even. Why Marie Lu? WHY? His character is sweet and nice and awesome and amazing and then BOOM, gone! I can feel my heart breaking. Yes, the ending and their interaction is sweet, but did you have to torture June for so long? Other characters include Eden, who is Day's younger brother. He is the epitome of adorable. There's Tess, who, again, cute as can be. We really meet Anden in this book, the leader of the country. I really like his character, and while he's not necessarily my favorite, I would have shed a tear were he to die.

GAH!!!!!! I am broken, do you hear me, BROKEN! The book was so tense. There was limited romance, due to the end of book two. There was really only one major romantic scene, but that one scene, SWOON! I really wish we had more romantic moments between June and Day. Also, if you're one of those people who don't read epilogues, read this one! The action was intense and nonstop. It was fight scene after fight scene at some parts. The search for the cure to the plague was a main part of the story, and for all the hype around it, I wish it'd had a bigger effect. Also, how they figured it out, SO called it! No one gets sick for no reason, I tell you. Again, I repeat, 10 YEARS!!!! I will not get over that any time soon, but writing this out has really helped. Despite the pain and heartache, or maybe because of it, this book definitely gets five stars. Check back this weekend for a review of the entire series! Now, excuse me while I go conk out. *falls asleep*

Reviewed: 2018-01-25
He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has.

When Champion opens, 8 months have passed from the events of Prodigy. June is training to be the Princeps in Denver, while Day has been undergoing treatment at Los Angeles, unbeknownst to her. They have been out of communication because of distance and the complicated situation between them. There is a lot of history between the two of them, so while they yearn for each other, they are also afraid to seek out the other. Then the Republic is under attack from the Colonies, peace negotiations are failing, and basically shit is hitting the fan. She hates it but has to bring herself to ask him to give up the only family he has left, for the sake of the Republic. It was all so scary and dire, I was hooked.

The book, though shorter than usual finales, packs a lot of action into it. It still, however, devotes time to the emotional upheaval the main characters are going through, as well as Anden. It is a difficult time and so many things were unsafe, including the fates of our beloved characters. The ending, was so damn well-written, that I am overcome by emotions. And that epilogue! Lu, you do know how to torment us, but also how to reward us. That ten years later scene packed in so much in one chapter, that I am eternally grateful for the farewell given to these characters. Brilliant book!
Item Posts
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 completed #championalegendn... on 2019-01-01
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 began #championalegendn... on 2018-11-30
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #championalegendn... on 2017-09-09
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #championalegendn... on 2017-09-08
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #championalegendn... on 2017-01-10
@megoblein
@megoblein began #championalegendn... on 2016-10-12
@verkruissen
@verkruissen completed #championalegendn... on 2013-11-30