Champion: A Legend Novel

Marie Lu
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?     June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion. New York Times bestseller YALSA BFYA ALA Top 10 nominee Chicago Public Library Best Book VOYA YA Perfect Ten List Bank Street Best Book Featured on Entertainment Weekly’s Must-List   From ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: “Fine writing and excellent execution. Sequel, please!” From THE NEW YORK TIMES: “Legend doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it.”   From USA TODAY: “Marie Lu’s dystopian novel is a ‘Legend’ in the making.”

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-01-01

I would give it zero stars if possible. I was in absolute love with the first two books of the series. I procrastinated reading the last book because I already read it once like four years ago and I remembered hating it. I gave it a second chance to see if things were different then how I remembered it. I was right to not read it the first time. It completely shreds the characters and their lives apart. Marie even kills the damn dog off. What the hell. Just a fair warning, if you liked the first two books, never read the last one. If you do, at least be prepared to have four-plus mental breakdowns while reading it. 

Reviewed: 2018-01-25
He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has.

When Champion opens, 8 months have passed from the events of Prodigy. June is training to be the Princeps in Denver, while Day has been undergoing treatment at Los Angeles, unbeknownst to her. They have been out of communication because of distance and the complicated situation between them. There is a lot of history between the two of them, so while they yearn for each other, they are also afraid to seek out the other. Then the Republic is under attack from the Colonies, peace negotiations are failing, and basically shit is hitting the fan. She hates it but has to bring herself to ask him to give up the only family he has left, for the sake of the Republic. It was all so scary and dire, I was hooked.

The book, though shorter than usual finales, packs a lot of action into it. It still, however, devotes time to the emotional upheaval the main characters are going through, as well as Anden. It is a difficult time and so many things were unsafe, including the fates of our beloved characters. The ending, was so damn well-written, that I am overcome by emotions. And that epilogue! Lu, you do know how to torment us, but also how to reward us. That ten years later scene packed in so much in one chapter, that I am eternally grateful for the farewell given to these characters. Brilliant book!
Item Posts
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 completed #championalegendn... on 2019-01-01
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 began #championalegendn... on 2018-11-30
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #championalegendn... on 2017-09-09
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #championalegendn... on 2017-09-08
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #championalegendn... on 2017-01-10
@megoblein
@megoblein began #championalegendn... on 2016-10-12
@verkruissen
@verkruissen completed #championalegendn... on 2013-11-30