Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Book 2)

J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
The Dursleys were so mean that hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he's packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.And strike it does. For in Harry's second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley's younger sister, Ginny.But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone--or something--starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects...Harry Potter himself?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-09-10

I really enjoyed this book. It was a little scarier and a little more dangerous than the first book, and I liked learning a bit more about Voldemort's past. 

Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
2
Reviewed: 2015-07-25

Although many seem to consider this the weakest book in the Harry Potter series I myself always enjoy it a lot!
I love the mystery and there are many hilarious scenes – especially with Ron!
Another thing I always seem to stand alone with is the fact that I quite like Lockhart! While I do not really like him as a character (and least of all as a teacher) I do like the comedy scenes he contributes!
This is also the book in which I like Ginny the most! I do like strong female characters but I much preferred Ginny’s cute and shy side compared to her almost overconfident and boyish personality we get to see in later volumes. Honestly – I wish she would have kept some of that shyness – the scenes were too cute!

Item Posts
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-21
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-10-21
@joanalau
@joanalau completed #harrypotterandth... on 1997-09-06
@joanalau
@joanalau began #harrypotterandth... on 1997-09-06
@dlwest979
@dlwest979 completed #harrypotterandth... on 1998-02-01
@dlwest979
@dlwest979 began #harrypotterandth... on 1997-11-01
@foxinerose
@foxinerose began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-09
@madalynekay11
@madalynekay11 began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-06-16
@polls49
@polls49 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-01-06
@bosmaru
@bosmaru completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-11-30
@bosmaru
@bosmaru began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-11-30
@cubcake
@cubcake completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-09-08
@slamunyon
@slamunyon completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-31
@slamunyon
@slamunyon began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-22
@jeffjames77
@jeffjames77 began #harrypotterandth... on 2000-04-04