Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7)

J.K. Rowling
Readers beware. The brilliant, breathtaking conclusion to J.K. Rowling's spellbinding series is not for the faint of heart--such revelations, battles, and betrayals await in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows that no fan will make it to the end unscathed. Luckily, Rowling has prepped loyal readers for the end of her series by doling out increasingly dark and dangerous tales of magic and mystery, shot through with lessons about honor and contempt, love and loss, and right and wrong. Fear not, you will find no spoilers in our review--to tell the plot would ruin the journey, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is an odyssey the likes of which Rowling's fans have not yet seen, and are not likely to forget. But we would be remiss if we did not offer one small suggestion before you embark on your final adventure with Harry--bring plenty of tissues. The heart of Book 7 is a hero's mission--not just in Harry's quest for the Horcruxes, but in his journey from boy to man--and Harry faces more danger than that found in all six books combined, from the direct threat of the Death Eaters and you-know-who, to the subtle perils of losing faith in himself. Attentive readers would do well to remember Dumbledore's warning about making the choice between "what is right and what is easy," and know that Rowling applies the same difficult principle to the conclusion of her series. While fans will find the answers to hotly speculated questions about Dumbledore, Snape, and you-know-who, it is a testament to Rowling's skill as a storyteller that even the most astute and careful reader will be taken by surprise. A spectacular finish to a phenomenal series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a bittersweet read for fans. The journey is hard, filled with events both tragic and triumphant, the battlefield littered with the bodies of the dearest and despised, but the final chapter is as brilliant and blinding as a phoenix's flame, and fans and skeptics alike will emerge from the confines of the story with full but heavy hearts, giddy and grateful for the experience. --Daphne Durham

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-02-26

A

Reviewed: 2016-02-26
Gold.
Reviewed: 2015-07-25

The final volume of Harry Potter brings a long list of character deaths – many of which were my favourites.
I’m afraid that’s just a part of it – I still love this book.
Sadly it’s no longer a school life oriented story but instead more of an adventure/journey themed story – and those I like as well!
Friends of mine have mentioned that they felt the first half of the book was boring them due to all the travelling – but personally – I liked that.
I especially liked the scenes in the grimmauld place and the ministry of magic. The return to Hogwarts was wonderful and it is just such a gripping book! Thanks to all the travelling we get all sorts of different settings for the scenes giving each of them a different kind of atmosphere.

Unlike most of my friends I didn’t mind the time skip showing our main characters future and families – it didn’t show too much and yet gave you a rough idea of how it might go on. What I didn’t like though, was the end of the actual story. I loved the final battle and all around it but the final scene, which basically resolved around a conversation between the three protagonists, felt unfulfilling as ending to such a great series.
Nonetheless – I feel that way about endings very often so it doesn’t make me like the series any less. An all time favourite for sure!

Item Posts
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-15
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2010-04-26
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-28
@carmenm
@carmenm completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-13
@carmenm
@carmenm began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-11
@putudian2013
@putudian2013 began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-02-27
@polls49
@polls49 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2007-08-23
@polls49
@polls49 began #harrypotterandth... on 2007-07-21
@marthead
@marthead completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-06-02
@marthead
@marthead began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-05-03
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-18
@baix0x
@baix0x began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-06
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-07-13
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-07-10
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2014-01-22