Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Book 4)

J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
The paperback edition of the legendary, record-breaking, best-selling fourth Harry Potter novel.Harry Potter is midway through his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup. He wants to find out about the mysterious event that's supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn't happened for a hundred years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he's not normal - even by wizarding standards. And in his case, different can be deadly.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-06-21
4
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.52
Reviewed: 2016-11-29

I rated my book 4 and a half stars. It is exciting, surprising, scary, sad, entertaining, and interesting.

This book is about a tournament called the Triwizard Tournament involves 3 schools.

Hogwarts, Durmstrang, and Beuxbotans.3 task are involved. Harry completes all three tasks until the third task when a professor Alaser Moody turns the winners’ cup into a portkey to lord Voldamort.

Alaser Moody isn’t a real professor he is really Barty Crouch.

When Harry and Cedric touch the cup they have to fight lord Voldamort.

Sadly Cedric dies.

My favorite part is when Sirius had to turn out of animagus in front of professor Snape

 

 

 

                 Jasmine J                                                 11-8-16                      

Reviewed: 2016-03-04
In this installment of the Harry Potter series we see the return of Voldemort. Harry faces many challanges including strife between himself and Ron. Harry faces danger in the tri-wizard tournament and comes out the other side only to find life has just gotten a lot more difficult.

Meanwhile we watch the materialism of the attraction between Ron and Hermione. We meet Mad Eye Moody. We learn more about Neville, and his family. We find out just how many death eaters are still living among the British population, and we learn just how ruthless Voldemort can be.

All in all this is a very satisfying volume of the Harry Potter series. This is the book that transforms the series from a children's series to a Young Adult series. The series grows up with the characters.

I would recommend this book to be read by parents and grandparents with their 12-14 year olds. Yes, they will let you read it to them, even at that age. It's a great bonding experience to have with them.

Short of that I would recommend this series to anyone who likes fantasy fiction. This book can be read as a stand alone. Rowling is very good about bringing readers up to date, but I don't recommend starting with this one, simply because of the HP culture and language is lost if you don't know what the terms all mean.
Reviewed: 2016-01-07
4.5
Reviewed: 2015-07-25

The Goblet of Fire is my least favourite Harry Potter book. It’s the only one that actually manages to bore and even annoy me.
I do enjoy parts of it but sadly the main events of the book are exactly the parts I have my issues with;
The entire Quidditch World Cup chapters simply bore me. I am generally not too fond of Quidditch but I felt these scenes were just unnecessarily long.
I feel the same about the Triwizard Tournament. For some reason I didn’t manage to get into it. It certainly had its moments but I felt bored of it for most of the time. The non tournament related scenes were much more appealing to me!
Of course – the final chapters of this book were thrilling and left you wanting to grab the next book straight away. But still – all in all – the tournament feels much too long. I also find Bagman a very irritating character and it gets very tiring to read his scenes.

But to also mention some things I enjoyed about this book: the introduction of Luna! And I quite liked the phase in which Harry was an outsider. Not that I’d wish for him but these scenes got me quite worked up and it’s great if a book manages to mess with your emotions!

Reviewed: 2015-03-15
This forth installment is a thrill ride from start to finish. Things are getting a little bit darker but the same time you still get the same feel as the last three books. One of my favorite things about this book is the introduction of other wizarding schools. It's interesting to imagine what goes on beyond Hogwarts and the UK. The Triwizard Tournament was such an exciting addition to this book. Everything about the Yule Ball makes me extremely happy.
Just <3 .
Item Posts
@okklou
@okklou completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-08
@okklou
@okklou began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-06-28
@jeffjames77
@jeffjames77 began #harrypotterandth... on 2002-04-04
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-01
@baix0x
@baix0x began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-03-30
@marthead
@marthead completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-03-13
@marthead
@marthead began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-02-22
@abookeuphoria
@abookeuphoria completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-12-20
@phab33547
@phab33547 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-11-10
@abookeuphoria
@abookeuphoria began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-12-11
@wolfgirl19
@wolfgirl19 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-07-29
@stephmusic63
@stephmusic63 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-05-16
@alexisc1d
@alexisc1d began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-04-24
@stephmusic63
@stephmusic63 began #harrypotterandth... on 2015-03-16
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2014-01-03