Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Book 6)

J.K. Rowling
The war against Voldemort is not going well; even the Muggles have been affected. Dumbledore is absent from Hogwarts for long stretches of time, and the Order of the Phoenix has already suffered losses. And yet . . . as with all wars, life goes on. Sixth-year students learn to Apparate. Teenagers flirt and fight and fall in love. Harry receives some extraordinary help in Potions from the mysterious Half-Blood Prince. And with Dumbledore's guidance, he seeks out the full, complex story of the boy who became Lord Voldemort -- and thus finds what may be his only vulnerability.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.53
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-02-27
Gold.
Reviewed: 2015-07-25

While The Half-Blood Prince seems to be the least action filled volume of the series – to me it seems to have the darkest feel!
I generally enjoy scenes that drop back on past events and basically feed you with background information. In fact the entire volume felt as though it is mostly about preparing you for the final book. I loved seeing some of Tom Riddles history and of course of Snapes as well.
Thanks to some hilarious scenes (often brought by Ron) it never feels too dark – it’s something I like about the Harry Potter series –there’s always a good balance between the different genres and aspects.
It’s also one of my preferred volumes of the series and one that I always end up finishing much faster than I expected.

This book brings me a little bit to the first books, when the stories begin with the studies and the professors, the pressure to Harry to study and his eternal fight with Severus Snipe. After half of the book the story change and it trow us to a darker side of the books it show us how the surrenders of Harry Potter became darker. Very good book with very important twist. Unexpected things happen in the last chapters is amazing that the author manage to do that to here story. Many authors are scare of radical changes to their characters, not her.
Item Posts
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-28
@carmenm
@carmenm completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-10
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-05-06
@polls49
@polls49 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2005-08-23
@okklou
@okklou completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-18
@okklou
@okklou began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-13
@marthead
@marthead completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-05-02
@marthead
@marthead completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-05-02
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-06
@baix0x
@baix0x began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-04-04
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2014-01-18
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #harrypotterandth... on 2014-01-12