Saga Volume 8

Brian K Vaughan
After the traumatic events of the War for Phang, Hazel, her parents, and their surviving companions embark on a life-changing adventure at the westernmost edge of the universe.Collects issues 43 through 48.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-07-24
Image Comics
Reviewed: 2019-06-19

I thought the wild west world was very cool and this volume had some good development for Prince Robot and Petrichor. 

Reviewed: 2019-06-08
I die a little every time I read a volume. Sweet Boy. Kurti.
Reviewed: 2018-03-22
(Guys I am SORRY. I read this a month ago and I'm only just getting to this review. Sometimes reviews fall through the cracks, especially the really wonderful ones because I don't know how express how much I freaking love them!)


The gang is back and tackling more big social topics in a way that will make you laugh and cry and probably look at some illustrated genitals!

I just ADORE how we get to watch Hazel grow into the gorgeous little creature she is. Whether she is admiring her not-really-her-brother's flatulence or asking about really personal things in a super blunt, yet innocent, way that only a child could.


"But, but, but I have girls parts in my swimsuit places, and I don't know if maybe I'll grow boy parts next. What if everything goes wrong and I die?"



Petrichor is far and beyond one of my absolute favourite characters now. I think I was saying this already after the previous volume, but freaking hell I love her. She is brave and vulnerable, maternal and fearless all at the same time.

We get to see more of The Will in this volume too! As always, he is in a heap of mess - he is still struggling mentally and very much in a pickle in the general sense as well. Will we ever see him live a better life like back in the very first volumes? Perhaps not.

Oh and this volume is a large majority set in Abortion Town, a wild west style planet with more new characters and monsters and big important issues to unpack. Staples and Vaughan just do freaking incredible work every single time with the way they address and unpack issues. I can not get enough of it and it's the reason I want to shove this graphic novel in everybody's faces.


“Good night, chubby baby
I can't rock you no more
I'm sorry, chubby baby
But my arms are getting sore
Sleep tight, chubby baby
And please don't get me wrong
You're a perfect sized baby
So never accept fakey beauty standards or develop unhealthy body issues...
... from this dumb song”




More reviewshref> | Twitterhref> | Pinteresthref> | I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library. (J.L. Borges)
Item Posts
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn completed #sagavolume000000... on 2021-07-13
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn began #sagavolume000000... on 2021-07-03
@tmilano
@tmilano completed #sagavolume000000... on 2019-02-09
@tmilano
@tmilano began #sagavolume000000... on 2019-02-05
@bridgebury
@bridgebury completed #sagavol000000000... on 2018-09-30
@bridgebury
@bridgebury began #sagavol000000000... on 2018-09-30
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-04-25
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-04-25
@emilymcawesomep
@emilymcawesomep completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-04-04
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-31
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-31
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl completed #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-13
@pterodashtyl
@pterodashtyl began #sagavolume000000... on 2018-01-12