To Kill a Kingdom

Alexandra Christo
Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most--a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian's heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever. The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby--it's his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she's more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good--But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind's greatest enemy?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2022-01-10
This book is so good!! It's an amazing plot, and the slow burn "i want to kill you"-to-lovers: wow, just, wow... I read this in like 4 days, It's super fluid and the plot is amazing.
Reviewed: 2021-07-05
Probably not a good idea to read this so close to The Daughter of the Pirate King -- almost siren-ed out on these two alone! An interesting take on The Little Mermaid story that fortunately didn't have too much insta-love. Wasn't super impressed by the mythology and the number of kingdoms that Christo tried to shove in. None were explained or explored enough to seem worthwhile. Also, quite a few made up words? -banter was weird -Lira's familiarity with world was weird -ending was rushed and weird
Reviewed: 2021-05-22
Wau, do I like low expectations or what?!

Because, these days (I am not the only one that thinks this, right?) it feels like its so hard to find a good book amidst all that mediocrity and copycats. Finding a book that will really do it for me, make me feel like "THIS is why I read" is almost as hard if not harder than shopping for clothes, (which is an adventure in itself) - so many options but it takes ages to find "the one".

I mean I get it, it is harder and harder to write something original and people no longer have to be stellar to get published (and I can have "high" expectations) but going through books even here on the holly ground of Goodreads goes like: another prince/ss saving her kingdom, fifty shades wannabe number ten, werewolves - meh, yeah, magic, I did not see that one coming, love, love, another romance, gah... I get so cynical just from seeing all those half-naked guys and reading those copy-paste blurbs. If I got a euro for every tormented lovers story, I would be so rich.

(Which is the reason I usually avoid those books at all cost but what is one to read when one goes to school and has too much respect for great books to rush their reading and is looking for something light and only reasonable average but still interesting enough?)

So 4 stars - subjective-but-not-really 4 stars.

Oh and the book?

Loved the girl! Badass to the last moment of the book but so deep and believable and the story, wau, and the prince, (*drooling*), yeah, and the crew - yo ho! - and the kingdoms, wau, and variety and plot twists and well-timed, thought through romance and just great, just great...
Reviewed: 2019-06-09

This was a really great book!
I wasn't really getting my hopes up when I picked it up because a lot of people were hyping it up, but I can honestly say that I really enjoyed it.
It's nice to be able to pick up a standalone novel that isn't really long, and not be left hanging. I feel like a lot of my questions throughout the story were answered (although it would have been nice to know more about what happened with the whole Princess Yukikio...and I'm kinda curious as to what Lira did with her collection of hearts).
I think there was significant character development with both Lira and Prince Elian. The both became stronger leaders for sure. I think Lira's development was a little more noticeable throughout the story, while Elian's was noticed towards the end.
Overall, I'm pretty content with this book. I don't feel like I was left completely hanging from the edge of a cliff. It would be interesting to possibly see a novela of what's happened to the kingdom under Lira's reign, even though there is a little insight at the very end. (TBH, I kinda also what to know what's going on with Lira and Elian's little arrangement at the end)
I'm starting to doubt I'm actually content, so I best end this here.

Item Posts
@gdsbooks
@gdsbooks completed #tokillakingdom... on 2020-12-30
@gdsbooks
@gdsbooks began #tokillakingdom... on 2020-12-28
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #tokillakingdom... on 2018-05-02
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #tokillakingdom... on 2018-05-02
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #tokillakingdom... on 2019-02-12
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann began #tokillakingdom... on 2019-02-08
@cacticauldrons
@cacticauldrons completed #tokillakingdom... on 2018-10-03
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #tokillakingdom... on 2018-05-30
@emilieb
@emilieb began #tokillakingdom... on 2018-05-05
@bejoyce
@bejoyce completed #tokillakingdom... on 2018-07-20