Winter

Marissa Meyer
Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana. Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won't approve of her feelings for her childhood friend--the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn't as weak as Levana believes her to be and she's been undermining her stepmother's wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that's been raging for far too long. Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer's national bestelling Lunar Chronicles series.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-06-04

***DO NOT READ if you have not read Cinder, Scarlet, and then Cress. This is the fourth/final installment of the series and you will either be lost to referenced events or character development.***

Refer to my review of Cinder at https://www.libib.com/reviews/25097-387445

Refer to my review of Scarlet at https://www.libib.com/reviews/8820-387445

Refer to my review of Cress at https://www.libib.com/reviews/243919-387445

 

The best description for this book/series in 10 words or less:

"Crazy alien princess combined with humans in a post-apocalyptic Earth."

 

I have to say Cress is my favorite book of the series, but Winter is the best written one in the series. This book is a little slower than the other ones when it comes to the action, but once the action starts it pretty much does not stop.

I thought making Winter into a crazy Lunar princess that everyone adores was a good way to show how imperfect she is yet is still loved. For some reason, I did not like Winter's character at all in this series. I'm just glad she wasn't perfect like in the Disney version of this fairy tale. And where are her 7 dwarfs? I felt cheated that her little companions weren't "whistling while they work." It shows how Cinder can be loved as their future ruler if she wins. Plus, she is a great addition to the not-so-perfect perfect team. Scarlet's character shows how strong and resilient she is as she is imprisoned as basically an animal in a cage, but manages to become a huge part in Cinder's success. Her compassion for Wolf continues to astound me too. Cress expands her comfort zone as she is beside Carswell Thorne and learns how to fight for what's right outside of a computer screen. She becomes less naïve and obviously learns some street smarts as she keeps her expectations of love. Cinder becomes even stronger in this book and almost resilient throughout the book even though there were several events that she could have quit and accept defeat.

The male counterpart characters get even better as the story continues. Emperor Kai's development grows immensely. You could tell that he knows where his part in putting Cinder on the Lunar throne as the rightful queen. Plus, his love toward Cinder is completely adorable. Carswell Thorne has become my favorite male counterpart. He learns from Cress's compassion and unfailing love which makes him a better man. He continues to be very protective of Cress and encourages her to be brave and fight. Who doesn't love a man like that? Ze'ev Kelsey, or Wolf, development changes very little like Cress. He continues being close to a zombie until he reunites with Scarlet (we all knew they would meet again). I just feel really bad for him since he has found purpose in life which got stripped away from him. Jacin Clay is definitely my least favorite male counterpart. I understand that he loves Winter and that he will do anything to protect her, but his best chance was always Cinder and he seemed to constantly just go against what Cinder was doing which caused more problems.

 

 

Refer to my blog for a different view of this review:

https://axarr.blogspot.com/2016/06/review-wednesday-winter-by-marissa-meyer.html

Reviewed: 2018-05-07
First off, this book is very misleading. When it’s sitting on my shelf next to Cress, it looks like it’s a tiny bit smaller than Cress. But when you open the book and see that the pages are as thin as the pages in the Bible, you know that you were very wrong. But it was still an amazing conclusion and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. Winter is a retelling of Snow White and it is done so wonderfully. It still has the same lovable Snow White story and it blends so well with the rest of Meyer’s story. Winter takes place of course after Cress but we learn more about the character Winter. She is very well known on Luna and Earth because of her beauty. But she does have scars on her face from Levana (being jealous, of course) but that does not take away from her beauty. In fact, some say it makes her all the more beautiful. She’s very sweet and kind but also kind of crazy. She has a lot of hallucinations due to the fact that she does not use her Lunar powers and refuses to do so. Her and the royal guard Jacin Clay obviously love each other but haven’t told one another. They grew up as childhood friends and Jacin becomes Winter’s guard. Queen Levana knows of Jacin’s feelings for Winter and uses it to her advantage. (Have I mentioned that she’s evil?) Meanwhile, the rest of the crew (minus Scarlet, who is still on Luna as Winter’s “pet”) is trying to come up with a plan to overthrow Levana. And the battle begins. I loved the blend of the original Snow White story and this one. We have a huntsman and we get a plague filled apple candy and true loves kiss. What more could you ask for? This book is very long and big but the story was never boring. EVER! I loved all the action, the romance and the friendships. Also, we get to see Iko more in this book than the others and I love her! I really didn’t understand why so many other people loved her, but after reading Winter, I have to say that I love her too. Winter and Jacin are adorable together. He is always worrying about her and trying to protect her and they make a very cute couple. But Cress and Thorne still have my heart. I loved them instantly while reading Cress and I was always smiling reading their parts. I also really grew to love Cinder and Kai. Like Iko, I didn’t see the love for them like everyone else, but now I totally do! And of course there’s Scarlet and Wolf. What a perfect match they make! How did Meyer create a story with all perfect ships?!? It’s fantastic!!! The ending was great and I’m really sad this story is over but I’m looking forward to reading Wires and Nerves next. I recommend this story to EVERYONE! If you are reading this, please do yourself a favor and read this series!! If you have read this series, tell me what you thought. Which ship is your favorite? Which book is your favorite? Let me know!
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 11/28/15: Final rating probably 4.5 stars
Whewwww it's over! I don't know whether to be happy or sad. It's so hard to part with a series I've come to love so much! Okay, so spoiler-free thoughts...
I did love every piece of this but there were parts that I didn't fee AS engaged so that's where from a "rating stand point" it's not a full five stars. I do understand that we had a lot to go through and a lot to set up to get here though!
I missed those bits of the relationships that truly bring me in and make me swoon -- there are some GREAT parts but I'm greedy and I always want more!
Ahh I just can't believe it's over. The ending was just perfect and I feel very satisfied! I'm so glad to hear that STARS ABOVE has an epilogue because gahhh I need even more still!

Full review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 12/14/15: How does one read the last book in one of their favorite series much less REVIEW it? Actually, as highly anticipated as WINTER was, I really do have some coherent thoughts. (They’re much more coherent than I was with CRESS, I think, because I’ve been preparing for this!)
Let’s start off with the amazing, shall we? I absolutely love that this series adds layer upon layer with the story and the characters. We finally get to meet and spend time with Winter in this book and it was so awesome to have that final piece of the puzzle fall into place. This book had some serious #squadgoals when this team comes together and I adore how they just fit together as a crew so well. Their personalities just mesh, their stories collide, and it’s absolute perfection.
I also love how much these characters evolve over the course of the series. It’s really about getting to know each one of them as they’re simultaneously going through the most complicated things of their lives. I really got to see their true character and how much each one of them grew throughout these experiences.

ALL THE SHIPSSSS. Cress and Thorne are my absolute favorites and they have some really, really great moments in this book. I’ve been rooting for them since CRESS and their relationship is just too adorable. Things really start to amp up with another one of my new favorites ships — Cinder and Kai. Yes, yes, I know. You guys have been on board since CINDER but I didn’t quite get into their relationship as much until CRESS and then I fell in love all over again with my re-reads. I just love their banter and how much strength each of them has not only individually but together. They had some super sweet moments and some really serious ones as well that really pushed my love for them over the edge! I actually do wish there had been a few more swoony moments? Oh boy were there some big ones… But I’m such a sucker for these relationships that I just want more!

The second half of the book really started to bring everything together and this is where the action was at! I actually wished a few more “holy cow” moments had happened in the beginning/middle because as exciting as all that action was, I didn’t quite feel stunned until later on in the book. Naturally, though, the halfway-point is where it’s at! The pacing really picked up and the book took off running and I was so excited and scared and happy all at the same time! I rather enjoyed the take on Snow White and it was really fun to see some very obvious comparisons (especially after hearing Marissa tell us the tale at her WINTER signing!) and then realize much later on that something was totally fairy-tale related and I hadn’t even realized it the whole time (the mining sector, right)! I just loved the ending and how much non-stop action there was. These characters came into their own and really proved how brave they were to stop crazy old Levana from tearing the world apart.

So as we know, I’m a huge fan of The Lunar Chronicles. To start reading the final book was a mix of emotions with excitement and sadness dominating them all. I think because I was really not ready to say goodbye, I MAYBE ended up distancing myself from the book so I wouldn’t be too heartbroken when it ended and that could be the reason why I didn’t feel AS connected as I had with the other books. There’s also the fact that there’s just so much going on throughout this finale (it IS over 800 pages, after all) that it is a lot to take in. That’s not a bad thing but there is a whole lot of action, many characters, high stakes, and final countdowns so it really is putting that final sense of urgency on everything. I also have to say that Winter was my least favorite leading lady. It was just really hard to connect with her because of her visions and illness. It’s just a thing for me where I have a hard time connecting to characters who are more childlike or fanciful. Cress was definitely on the naive side but she wasn’t childish, and I felt like it was hard for me to connect with her the way I had with the other girls. Obviously she’s incredibly strong for being able to keep from using her Lunar gift all these years and that’s the reason why she’s been going mad but that aspect still was a bit hindering for me to really love her as much as the other girls.

WINTER was absolutely wonderful and while I don’t think it was my favorite of the series (honestly, I don’t think series-enders are EVER my favorites of the series — too much pressure!), I still absolutely loved it. I will forever be in love with the world that Marissa Meyer created and I can’t thank her enough for this beautiful series. It’s brought me so much happiness, allowed me to work with so many awesome people, and has even presented me with amazing opportunities to become more involved in the book community. I’m so joyful that I read it (thanks, Alyssa!) and I’m sure I’ll keep re-reading it for many years to come!
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
I hated this book simply for ending. I love this series, even though it can be kind of cliche and cheesy at times. I honestly can't wait to read it again and can't wait for the book of short stories. I would recommend this to everyone who likes these kinds of books. AMAZING.
Reviewed: 2016-06-04

Winter wraps up The Lunar Chronicles, and makes for an interesting “Happily Ever After”. Marissa Meyer tosses enough twists and turns into the plot to leave readers wondering if there will be more than the standard fairy tale ending, but I will leave the surprises up to the readers of the book, for they are not meant for the timid souls only reading the reviews. If you have read this far, just by the thing already!

I loved the entire series, and I know that I am far from the target audience. If you think that it’s just some YA book that you wouldn’t be able to relate with, stop beating yourself up, and just remember that even your high fantasy epic storylines boil down to being a fairytale in the end anyways. I promise limited scenes involving mushy, teenage girls swooning over the handsome prince, and more scenes with some interesting science fiction cyborg apparatuses, gene mutations, and Lunar terraforming. Hey, if you can survive watching Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid, on constant repeat, sitting on the couch with your nieces stealing all your popcorn, then trust me, these stories are far better than that.  

 

 

Recommended for those that want to find Prince Charming, convert a bad apple starship Captain, can see the hero within the beast, or the guys that would love to be anyone of those characters. 

Item Posts
@greenicee12
@greenicee12 completed #winter... on 2019-01-03
@leakycauldrons
@leakycauldrons completed #winter... on 2017-09-07
@leakycauldrons
@leakycauldrons began #winter... on 2017-08-22
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #winter... on 2016-08-31
@emilieb
@emilieb began #winter... on 2016-08-01
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #winter... on 2016-05-14
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #winter... on 2016-05-03
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #winter... on 2016-04-05
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #winter... on 2016-03-30
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks completed #winter... on 2017-06-03
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks began #winter... on 2017-05-28
@shixam
@shixam completed #winter... on 2016-09-04
@papersami
@papersami completed #winter... on 2015-11-12
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #winterthelunarch... on 2017-04-17
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #winterthelunarch... on 2017-04-16