Cinder

Marissa Meyer
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earthâ

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-01-26

Really good if you're into futuristic science fiction! (I'm not... hence the low rating for me.)

Reviewed: 2016-09-05
A really interesting retelling that doesn't fall into the trap of simply redressing the exact story and becoming entirely predictable. It was hard to put down towards the end, and the protagonist was lovable and relatable. The conflict between Earthen and Lunar did not feel contrived, but rather believably complex and nuanced. The Lunars' glamour was not overdone and a simple deus-ex-machina, as it so easily could have been. And the cyborg element was probably my favorite, most masterfully executed addition. The eastern setting felt respected, and didn't distract from the story itself (as many authors get so wrapped up in explaining their world they forget the plot it exists to carry). Overall, very well done!
Reviewed: 2016-05-22
I remember seeing this book when it first came out and thinking there was no way I'd ever like something like that. It's a good think I got out of my own way because I have never been more wrong about a book. I absolutely adored the characters and loved the fast pace of the story telling. It was brilliant.
Reviewed: 2016-02-18

In case you haven’t figured it out, this book is a retelling of Cinderella. In fact, the whole Lunar Chronicles series are retellings of fairy tales in a steampunk, sci-fi kind of way. I love retellings and this one was so unique! I am a big fan of steampunk, so to read a book that combines that AND fairy tales!? OMG!!! This book was AWESOME! I loved the good characters, the bad characters, the androids, the plot, everything! There was a great cliffhanger at the end, not so much that there wasn’t closure, but now I NEED to read Scarlet to see what happens!

Reviewed: 2015-08-03
Love this book!! Has a good mix of fairy tales and si-fi! Not wanting to put the book down each page keep me on the edge of my seat! An emotion rolacoster till the very end! The characters are easy to connect with. Cinder is the first girl you will follow through The Lunar Chronicles, and her life is complex. Dealing with not know where you came from and having to deal with a terrible stepmother. Who has no problem with trying to put Cinder down ( don't get me started on the stepmom or the eldest stepsister!) Cinder journy through the first book is so much fun to follow and easy to understand! Just the perfect mix of things that a perfect book needs!! As her journy progress the mind boggling question pop up and searching for the answers becomes an adventure all in itself! But it all stays connected to the main plot!! With the incredible writing style and the eccentric plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat till the very last page!! The jaw dropping suspense is a wonderful and strong start to the begging of The Luniar Chronicales!! Absolutely one of my new favorite books (along with the rest of the books)!!!
Reviewed: 2015-06-14

I agree with some other reviewers that it was predictable, but I really liked the world and the characters, and it was very fast paced.

Counts for "Young Adult" challenge on Summer Reading. 

Reviewed: 2015-02-21

Predictable from page one, but highly enjoyable.

Reviewed: 2015-02-10

So...when I was in junior high, I used to read Sailor Moon fanfiction by a writer by the name of Alicia Blade. Her fanfics were my favourites because she got the characters down SO WELL, plus she wrote Season 1 Serena/Darien (back when they still bickered and hated each other and didn't know they were lovers in a past life). Also, she wrote humour extraordinarily well, which is tricky.

Alicia Blade is Marissa Meyer.

I can see Sailor Moon influences ALL OVER Cinder, and I LOVE IT. I remember reading this when it first came out and liking it, but I'd fallen off the series band wagon, so I decided to pick it back up. Cue binge read in 3...2...1..

Reviewed: 2015-01-23
I completely love the concept of this book the world building and character background is beautiful and the writing will captivate you for sure my only issue with this book is that it was to predictable I know exactly where this story was heading early on in the first few chapters but even with that I still wanted to continue and got hooked
Reviewed: 2015-01-02

What an amazing  retelling of Cinderella! It was amazing! I recommend it to all who love fantasy & sci-fi and especially those who love Cinderella so they can be as amazed as I was about this new perspective of the story. The ending though, oh my, I can't wait to pick up Scarlet like asap! It's hard to express my feelings for this book without fangirling. I found myself captivated by the book from the beginning! I loved how it had some of the original bits of Cinder, like the stepmother and the two stepsisters and that she was basically the servent (except she's also a mechanic who works to pay off all the bills). I mean I don't want to say anything more because I don't want to spoil it, but its definitely so original. Plus the idea of cyborgs! I loved it! I really won't say anything else because I don't want to spoil it at all but I definitely recommend this to all young adult readers! Beautiful! 

Item Posts
@ypelaan
@ypelaan began #cinder... on 2018-06-23
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #cinder... on 2018-06-22
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #cinder... on 2018-04-23
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #cinder... on 2018-04-22
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #cinder... on 2015-12-06
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #cinder... on 2015-12-04
@lillymarie16
@lillymarie16 completed #cinder... on 2018-03-20
@mnakashige
@mnakashige began #cinder... on 2018-01-24
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #cinder... on 2016-02-26
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #cinder... on 2016-02-19
@jhonda4687
@jhonda4687 completed #cinder... on 2016-10-15
@natureandgrace
@natureandgrace began #cinder... on 2017-07-21
@natureandgrace
@natureandgrace completed #cinder... on 2017-07-27
@shixam
@shixam completed #cinder... on 2017-06-09
@shixam
@shixam began #cinder... on 2017-06-04