You: A Novel

Caroline Kepnes
Love hurts…When aspiring writer Guinevere Beck strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe works, he’s instantly smitten. Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: She’s gorgeous, tough, razor-smart, and as sexy as his wildest dreams. Beck doesn’t know it yet, but she’s perfect for him, and soon she can’t resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom made for her. But there’s more to Joe than Beck realizes, and much more to Beck than her oh-so-perfect façade. Their mutual obsession quickly spirals into a whirlwind of deadly consequences . . . A chilling account of unrelenting passion, Caroline Kepnes’s You is a perversely romantic thriller that’s more dangerously clever than any you’ve read before.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-06
DNF @ 50%.



I tried, but man this book is boring and not interesting. I wouldn't care if this book ended in some kind of mass murder.

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 12/1/16: 3.5 - 4 stars
Well, for all of the hype for this book, it didn't really leave me feeling shocked or awed or super impressed. I did like the things that were different about it. I really enjoyed the different narration in the second person, hence the title "You". Main character (and super psychopath) Joe narrates the book to and about his newest obsession, Guinevere Beck. It was an interesting choice of narration and it really gets you in the head of the narrator and I did have a hard time with the book -- not in a bad way, but in a way that confused me. This guy is nuts. He's actually crazy and creepy and scary and does some very, very bad things... And yet I felt sympathetic at times! I also really enjoyed Joe's voice in the sense that it felt more personal. It wasn't just recounting. He often interrupted himself or interjected with more things that brought one more level to the account.

For all of the hype, I felt like there was supposed to be a twist coming. There wasn't. I think I got myself all hyped because of other people's reactions and it didn't really school me like I thought it would. It was horrifying in many ways but it wasn't quite that surprise that I was looking for.

The book was very sexual and I don't have issues with sexuality in books but it did feel overdone. I guess that is kind of the point of the book in a way, since Joe's obsession is romantic on all levels. He's obsessed with Beck emotionally, physically, and mentally. Clearly he has several psychoses so the obsession is overboard on so many levels.

The book was interesting and engaging from start to finish and I did enjoy reading it but I think I was just let down by the hype. I kept waiting for a huge moment that didn't really happen and I thought that's how the book would end but was kind of hoping it wouldn't. I suppose I'll round up to four stars since it was one of those can't-put-it-down books.

Full review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 2/1/17: Well, for all of the hype for this book, it didn’t really leave me feeling shocked or awed or super impressed, but I did find that it left a lasting impression and that I wanted to read the next book right away! I did like the things that were different about it. I really enjoyed the different narration in the second person, hence the title “You”. Main character (and super psychopath) Joe narrates the book to and about his newest obsession, Guinevere Beck. It was an interesting choice of narration and it really gets you in the head of the narrator. I did have a hard time with the book — not in a bad way, but in a way that confused me because this guy is totally nuts. He’s actually crazy and creepy and scary and does some very, very bad things… And yet I felt sympathetic at times! The form of narration really had me feeling for him even though I knew he was totally wrong and deranged. I also really enjoyed Joe’s voice in the sense that it felt more personal. It wasn’t just recounting. He often interrupted himself or interjected with more things that brought one more level to the account.

For all of the hype, I felt like there was supposed to be a twist coming and while that really wasn’t this kind of book. I think I got myself all hyped because of other people’s reactions and it didn’t really shock me like I thought it would, but instead, it was shocking in a very different way. I was so appalled at Joe’s actions and yet it was also a train wreck that I couldn’t stop watching. I really did get myself all psyched for a big twist moment, so I was a bit sad that that didn’t happen, but I also am coming to appreciate those thrillers that can wrap up without a twist because if every book had a twist, they’d all be predictable!

The book was very sexual, and I don’t have issues with sexuality in books, but it did feel overdone at times. I guess that is kind of the point of the book in a way, since Joe’s obsession is romantic on all levels. He’s obsessed with Beck emotionally, physically, and mentally. Clearly he has several psychoses so the obsession is overboard on so many levels. I am used to reading YA which really doesn’t get explicit of course, but there were points that felt like a little much for me.

YOU was interesting and engaging from start to finish and I did enjoy reading it but I think I was just let down by the hype. I kept waiting for a huge moment that didn’t really happen and I thought that’s how the book would end but was also kind of hoping it wouldn’t. Looking back on it as I’m reviewing, I really was totally engaged so that really did leave a good lasting impression! Somehow Joe came off as charismatic in a way and I wanted to pick up HIDDEN BODIES shortly thereafter!
Reviewed: 2017-08-26
Spoilers at the end of review! Wonderful audio book recorded by Santino Fontana!! Really made it worth listening to. The story was interesting for the beginning premise, and Joe was a fantastically realized character, and his insecurities and uncertainties made him understandable - to an extent. However, his character really wasn't menacing, and as the story progressed, it was more fitting to a doomed romance novel rather than a suspenseful horror novel. I have to admit I read this assuming it would similar to the 2016 film Pet, because it was recommended as such, and I was waiting for some vicious gore or violence - but that was all glossed over. Beck dying felt eventual and very anticlimactic, even with the surprise fake-out.
Reviewed: 2017-01-15
That was immensely disturbing.

This is the creepiest and most disturbing fictional book I've read in many years. The disjunction between the story he is telling you and the story you see when looking at the character's actions objectively is... something... harrowing, incredible, disturbing, fantastic, unreal, unbelievable... it's something...
Item Posts
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #youanovel... on 2016-06-07
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #youanovel... on 2016-06-02
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #youanovel... on 2017-02-17
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #youanovel... on 2018-08-07
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #youanovel... on 2018-08-04
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #youanovel... on 2017-02-19
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #youanovel... on 2017-02-17
@misselease
@misselease completed #youanovel... on 2016-12-03
@dia309
@dia309 completed #youanovel... on 2016-02-07
@dia309
@dia309 began #youanovel... on 2016-02-01