City of Glass (Mortal Instruments)

Cassandra Clare
Love is a mortal sin, and the secrets of the past are deadly. Plunge into the third installment in the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly).To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight. As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost? Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of bestselling series the Mortal Instruments.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-09-19
I really enjoyed this series, and I will read the rest but I just wish it had been a trilogy and finished here.
Reviewed: 2020-09-19
I really enjoyed this series, and I will read the rest but I just wish it had been a trilogy and finished here.
Reviewed: 2020-07-01

I read this book for the first time about one year ago. I loved every second of it. Then I read it again. I love this book inside and out. And the series as a whole is one of my favorites. This is the book in the series where you really figure out what's going on. The bad guys are explained, and you find out big secrets about the characters. So it's one book you just can't miss.

The main character is Clary Fray. There are so many words I could use to describe her. She is strong, independent, amazing, powerful, dedicated, loyal, caring, stubborn. The list goes on and on. She's a well developed character that everyone is able to relate to. Not to mention she can kick demon butt. And by this point, she's starting to realize just how awesome she is. Then there's Jace. He is the male lead. He is actually a lot like Clary. The only difference, he may be more stubborn. He's not afraid to risk his life, which makes him a little reckless at times. It worries the heck out of the other characters, but makes readers fall in love with him. He is not the least bit modest. He is completely aware of his hotness, and often brings it up. He has a witty comment for everything. He'll have you laughing out loud at almost everything he says. He acts like an idiot at times, but all teenage boys do.

The plot twists and turns. Just as it looks like someone is good, they do something evil. Someone evil might turn out to be good. And of course there are the characters no one is sure if they're good or not. If you are looking to read this book, be ready for one heck of a ride. I give this book five stars.

Reviewed: 2019-06-09

HOLY COW!! I was definitely not expecting this book to go the way it did!! All of the twists in this book had me going crazy! I’m not going to lie though, this book ended perfectly, so it makes me wonder what could possibly happen next.

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
This one was just as good as the others and erased the plot mechanic that I hated. Bravo! Might buy these for myself. Oooooooor wait for an eReader.
Reviewed: 2018-03-22
Okay so far this has been my favourite book in the series.

Now that everything has been set in place
(although I wanna say I still think it took a LOT of time for Clare to get this done - I've read standalone books that have done it better)
we can start getting into all the twisty turny plot twists and stuff. Which is g r e a t. Also finally.

I am loving how all the background and history is finally coming to light and everything starts to slowly make sense. This is what I've been waiting for.

There were some GREAT SCENES that happened in this book!

+Alec coming out - I'm in love, this could not have happened better, and I don't think I've ever shipped anything so hard before
+Max died!!!!!!!!! I cried. Clare is a murderer. And while I'm continuing with the series I also want to boycott her books just bc of this.
+We finally get told that ClaryxJace is not incestuous as it was made out to be. I knew this was coming but I want to say tf it's now over. Although I most definitely eye-rolled at the fact that Clary still kissed her real brother.

Also Jace died (which I didn't see coming) but after Max it wasn't that much to me tbh.

I am enjoying how this series is coming together and I'm glad that I've reached a point where I want to see how this progresses (rather than just reading bc I've been told eventually it gets good).

It's still not on the list of top books by far but I am starting to understand the hype.
Item Posts
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #mortalinstrument... on 2019-04-20
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #mortalinstrument... on 2019-04-18
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #mortalinstrument... on 2019-04-19
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #mortalinstrument... on 2019-04-19
@greenicee12
@greenicee12 completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2018-07-14
@mnakashige
@mnakashige completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2018-06-12
@raymoncj
@raymoncj completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2018-04-08
@mnakashige
@mnakashige began #cityofglassmorta... on 2018-04-29
@cmsalsip
@cmsalsip completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2013-10-31
@mnakashige
@mnakashige completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2016-07-09
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #cityofglassmorta... on 2016-03-25
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #cityofglassmorta... on 2016-03-23