Kite Runner, The

Khaled Hosseini
The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father's servant, The Kite Runner is a beautifully crafted novel set in a country that is in the process of being destroyed. It is about the power of reading, the price of betrayal, and the possibility of redemption; and an exploration of the power of fathers over sons, their love, their sacrifices, their lies. A sweeping story of family, love, and friendship told against the devastating backdrop of the history of Afghanistan over the last thirty years, The Kite Runner is an unusual and powerful novel that has become a beloved, one-of-a-kind classic.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-01-04
I AM SO EMOTIONAL DON'T TOUCH ME. This story was beautiful and I learned so much from it and man. Just so good. I also read this for #diversathon (even though I'm finishing it about a week later) and I really feel like I learned so much about a culture that I really knew nothing about. It was eye opening and interesting and so educational. The characters were beautifully written and Amir was fantastically developed. Overall the plot was engaging though the pacing lacked at times. The message was beautiful and the ending made me cry. Read this book IT IS GREAT.
Reviewed: 2019-05-08
Simply the most powerful and affecting novel I have read in the last 5 years, if not more. I was floored by its spare language and gut-wrenching scenes. It's beauty lies in its ability to be quiet when one expects loud and loud when one expects quiet.
Reviewed: 2019-01-15
Book group read -- More allegorical than I thought it would be. Parts were difficult to read, but overall I wanted to know what happened enough to read to the end.
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Wow. Well written, the novel all came together at the end. Great insight into Afghanistan and its cultures and how the Taliban's rule of terror changed the country.
Reviewed: 2017-11-16
“A man who has no conscience, no goodness, does not suffer.”

I am a Pakistani who got chances to make some Afghani friends,later they went back to their home country so we are no more in touch,what I mean to say is that I am familiar with their culture and traditions,also most of the words used are also used in Urdu so I didn't have to consult the notes.In short,it was an easier read for me.
I immensely enjoyed reading this novel,if "enjoy" is even the right word,i don't know!Because I also cried a lot.
I liked many things about this book,one of those is it's quotable quotes.

“there is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. When you kill a man, you steal a life... you steal his wife's right to a husband, rob his children of a ather. When you tell a lie, you steal someone's right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness... there is no act more wretched than stealing.”

Why this novel became one of my favorites,and why I feel like reading this book made a difference,
* The overall story,
* Amir's gray character,
* Baba's interesting character,
* Hassan's lovable character,
* Writing style,
* Historical background,
* Emphasis on ethics,
I recommend it to everyone!
Reviewed: 2017-05-11

This book was a real eye-opener. As a child growing up in the post 9/11 world, I had only ever thought of Afghanistan and the rest of the Middle East as sandy deserts, already ravaged by the years and years of war. The Kite Runner made Afghanistan beautiful, some place you could be homesick for. This book made me see that the Middle East had a culture that was not just religion and war. Reading it was a turning point in many of my (family-influenced) political opinions; it huamanized the people of that region and immigrants. I would definitely recommend that everyone read this book. 

Reviewed: 2016-05-10
Available
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
You know how some books are emotionally draining to read, yet you end up glad you read them? That's this book for me.

Frequently on banned and challenged book lists, the Kite Runner is filled with violence, sexual situations, and extremely unlikeable characters. It's not a happy book. It's the story of an flawed, privileged boy growing up in pre-war Afghanistan who searches for forgiveness and redemption for the mistakes made in his youth. Some scenes were extremely difficult to read. Some scenes made me sad for the characters. Some scenes left me indigent to the violence in the world--the stadium scene specifically. It's a story about how secrets can shape our lives, and it's a story about relationships.

If you can't take dangerous, violent situations involving children, give this one a pass. You will not be uplifted by the end, but I think it's worth reading. Just be sure to have something funny and sweet ready to read immediately after you are done to restore your faith in humanity. Maybe a good Dave Barry book, or The Princess Bride.
Item Posts
@never
@never completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2011-09-20
@never
@never began #kiterunnerthe... on 2011-09-14
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2005-10-01
@raizarivera03
@raizarivera03 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-10
@raizarivera03
@raizarivera03 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-12
@kuimugweru
@kuimugweru completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-23
@kuimugweru
@kuimugweru began #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-18