Great Gatsby, The

F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgeraldâ

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-11-19

I am one of those people who didn't have to read The Great Gatsby in high school. I we never in the class that it was assigned but heard good things about the book from classmates. So on it went to my TBR. Fast forward a few years and I've finally gotten to it. I see why it was a favorite.

Reviewed: 2018-08-24

While Moby-Dick is THE American novel of our eternal values, Gatsby is THE American novel of, for, and about modern times.

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
Good book. I read this for fun, not for school. Would read again.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted "gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession," it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s. The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.
Reviewed: 2016-09-12

FR 6    England     1070L   no GLE

copies

1.  .50  PB  F  bumped, crease on front cover, corners bent, lots of underling, notes on back cover page, tear on spine,  L1  25/04/39    8x5

2.  .36  HB  G    no dust jacket, dark teal board w/black spine,  L1    25/1953   8.5x5.5

.50  PB   B-C   text book, (w/ notes and preface by Bruccoli)

 

Reviewed: 2015-07-14
Perhaps one of the most overrated books in American literature. Mildly entertaining with an overall laziness that makes it seem phoned-in.
Item Posts
@frenchshark
@frenchshark completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2019-08-01
@frenchshark
@frenchshark began #greatgatsbythe... on 2019-07-31
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2014-08-13
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-12-14
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-12-07
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-10-13
@baix0x
@baix0x began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-10-03
@nancypickard
@nancypickard completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-08-09
@nancypickard
@nancypickard began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-08-06
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2015-09-25
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #greatgatsbythe... on 2015-09-24
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2013-06-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2012-03-31
@bsorensen96
@bsorensen96 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2012-09-23
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-04-21