5th Wave: The First Book of the 5th Wave Series, The

Rick Yancey
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother--or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-06-28
Sarcastic, witty, and awesome.
Reviewed: 2018-06-19
ALIENS. That's all I have to say.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description The #1 New York Times Bestseller, now a major motion picture starring Chloë Grace Moretz The Passage meets Ender's Game in the first book in an epic series by award-winning author Rick Yancey. "Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances."--Entertainment Weekly "A modern sci-fi masterpiece . . ."--USAToday.com After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother--or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. "Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough."--Justin Cronin, The New York Times Book Review An Amazon Best Book of the Year A New York Times bestseller A USA Today bestseller Winner of the 2014 Red House Children's Book Award 2014 Children's Choice Book Awards Finalist for Teen Book of the Year A YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults A YALSA 2014 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers A Booklist 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults A VOYA 2013 Perfect Ten Books in the series: The 5th Wave (The First Book of The 5th Wave) The Infinite Sea (The Second Book of The 5th Wave) The Last Star (The Third Book of the The 5th Wave)
Reviewed: 2017-06-28

Unique idea, great story, flat characters. 

 

I couldn't relate to the characters.  It was like I was reading a cookbook instead of fiction.  The story intrigued me enough to start book 2, but ended up abandoning it about a quarter of the way in for simple lack of interest to continue reading.   Oh well, on to the next adventure.

Reviewed: 2016-08-08

In the first part of The 5th Wave, we are introduced to Cassie who is all alone in the wilderness after an alien invasion that has killed most of the people on Earth including Cassie's parents. From Cassie's perspective, we see the memories of her family and how they died. The point of view shifts several times after the first half of the book. Ben Parish and Cassie's brother, Sammy are taken captive and trained to kill the alien invaders. There is also Evan, who is one of the "Others." Evan saves Cassie's life and from that point on, the story really takes off. There is lots of action throughout the story and it is very well written. It just isn't my type of story. I probably will not read the sequel.

Reviewed: 2016-02-29

3/5 - "Not too bad - could have been 100 pages shorter. Enjoyable if you like alien invasion type books/movies." - Kalman

Item Posts
@shiannasluss
@shiannasluss began #0000000005thwave... on 2019-06-26
@shiannasluss
@shiannasluss began #0000000005thwave... on 2019-06-27
@carmenm
@carmenm completed #0000000005thwave... on 2019-02-23
@carmenm
@carmenm began #0000000005thwave... on 2019-02-19
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #0000000005thwave... on 2013-11-13
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #0000000005thwave... on 2016-05-19
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper began #0000000005thwave... on 2016-05-04
@victorylane
@victorylane completed #0000000005thwave... on 2018-09-01
@hstewart
@hstewart completed #0000000005thwave... on 2016-05-28
@hstewart
@hstewart began #0000000005thwave... on 2016-05-12
@victorylane
@victorylane began #0000000005thwave... on 2018-06-25
@bridgit4242
@bridgit4242 completed #0000000005thwave... on 2018-05-04
@kuecks10
@kuecks10 completed #0000000005thwave... on 2018-02-03
@kuecks10
@kuecks10 began #0000000005thwave... on 2018-01-14
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #0000000005thwave... on 2017-01-28