Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens
In Where the Crawdads Sing, Owens juxtaposes an exquisite ode to the natural world against a heartbreaking coming of age story and a surprising murder investigation. Thought-provoking, wise, and deeply moving, Owens's debut novel reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-10-15
Pure. Genius. One of the best reads of the year - of a lifetime.
Reviewed: 2021-07-17
This book has been on my shelf for OVER A YEAR, so I finally decided to read it. The suspense was ALL TOO REAL. I loved it. I should have read it sooner.
Reviewed: 2021-06-21

Kya Clark is known around Barkley Cove, North Carolina, as "Marsh Girl". Kya lives out in a small house in the middle of the marsh, is barefoot, never went to school, and lives mostly off the land; aka, wild and unfit for polite society. In late 1969, when the "best quarterback the town had ever seen", popular, Chase Andrews was found dead, locals immediately pointed fingers at her.

 

But Kya isn't what they say. Abandoned eventually by her entire family, she takes life's lessons from the land around her. Though she has the skills to live in solitude forever, the time comes when she becomes touch-starved and the need to be loved is powerful. She gets drawn to two young men from town, both amazed by her wild beauty. Kya begins taking down the walls she's built so high around herself... That is until the unthinkable happens.

 

So, I read this book because my younger sister, who is just now beginning to get into reading for pleasure, read it and absolutely loved it. I figured if she loved it, I would too. And man, am I glad I picked up a copy.

 

My heart ached for Kya throughout the entire novel. When her final brother left her alone with her Dad - I was mentally screaming at him to take her. When her father finally left himself, I was jumping for joy, but then quickly became worried about how Kya would survive. Each time Kya came close to a boy, I was wary, especially with Chase Andrews because I knew he was no good the second he started looking at her. I felt very honored to read about Kya's life.

 

I absolutely loved Kya, Jumpin, and Mabel's relationship. The way Jumpin took care of Kya as best as he could, even from a distance made my heart soar. I shed a few tears when it's mentioned that he posted Kya's book in the store front window like a proud display...

 

Delia Owens wrote an amazingly beautiful, coming of age story that is thought provoking, deeply moving, and an ode to the natural world. It gives thought to the incidents as children that shape us into the adults we are today and how isolation influences the behavior of a young woman. Where the Crawdad's Sing is a book that pulls at some heart strings and makes you wonder about being wild and free.

Reviewed: 2021-02-07
Truly the best book I’ve read in many years. Many tears where shed. Some happy and some sad.
Reviewed: 2019-02-20

5 out of 5

Item Posts
@ahelms
@ahelms completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2021-06-17
@ahelms
@ahelms began #wherethecrawdads... on 2021-06-12
@sstewart
@sstewart completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2021-06-06
@sstewart
@sstewart began #wherethecrawdads... on 2021-06-06
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2020-02-28
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #wherethecrawdads... on 2020-02-24
@fordhamhouse
@grissel65
@grissel65 completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-03-31
@areedcollett
@areedcollett completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-06-01
@campbell18
@campbell18 completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-05-24
@areedcollett
@areedcollett began #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-05-26
@carlee1516
@carlee1516 completed #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-05-14
@carlee1516
@carlee1516 began #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-05-11
@campbell18
@campbell18 began #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-04-18
@tbase1968
@tbase1968 began #wherethecrawdads... on 2019-03-12