Never Let Me Go

Kazuo Ishiguro
As children Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were. Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special—and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-03-22
I'm not sure if it's because I saw the movie before the book, but I found that the story got drawn out in a lot of places. I was waiting for the story to get to when they were actually donating and being carers that I kept losing interest in the beginning.

I loved the part near the end where it starts to explain all the background behind the donations and how they came about. Perhaps, also because I watched the movie first, it brought it all together quite nicely.

But overall I admit I was disappointed. I looked forward to reading this book for a long time and it wasn't what I expected it to be.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Great book.
Reviewed: 2016-11-01
read
Reviewed: 2016-08-26
Never Let Me Go tells a story that I found compelling and intellectually intriguing, but difficult to engage with emotionally. The premise is fascinating, but I can't really say too much about it without spoiling the primary concept of the novel.[return][return]Kazuo Ishiguro has set Never Let Me Go in a place and time much like our own modern world, but in some areas is much more scientifically and medically advanced, thanks to the donors and their carers. His narrator, Kathy, is a carer - it's not exactly a medical profession, but it does involve being part of the recovery process as donors recuperate from one procedure and prepare for their next. Most donors will be called upon three or four times before they "complete."[return][return]When we meet Kathy, she is preparing to give up her work as a carer, and this has prompted her to reflect on her years growing up among the other "special" students at the secluded Hailsham school. Ruth and Tommy were among her closest friends there, and her work re-connected all of them as young adults.[return][return]READ MORE: http://www.3rsblog.com/2009/03/thursday-book-talk-never-let-me-go-by.html
Item Posts
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 completed #neverletmego... on 2018-11-05 00:00:00
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 began #neverletmego... on 2018-10-30 00:00:00
@debl
@debl completed #neverletmego... on 2018-10-11
@chloemary
@chloemary completed #neverletmego... on 2018-06-27
@xime917
@xime917 began #neverletmego... on 2018-06-27
@debl
@debl began #neverletmego... on 2018-04-11
@kanit13
@kanit13 completed #neverletmego... on 2017-12-31
@karinasilvz
@karinasilvz completed #neverletmego... on 2018-01-21
@karinasilvz
@karinasilvz began #neverletmego... on 2018-01-09
@angelle
@angelle completed #neverletmego... on 2017-11-03
@angelle
@angelle began #neverletmego... on 2017-10-29
@scoobydoo678
@scoobydoo678 completed #neverletmego... on 2017-10-29
@scoobydoo678
@scoobydoo678 began #neverletmego... on 2017-10-22
@msbeavert
@msbeavert completed #neverletmego... on 2017-06-16
@msbeavert
@msbeavert began #neverletmego... on 2017-05-26