Brave New World

Aldous Huxley
Aldous Huxley's tour de force, Brave New World is a darkly satiric vision of a "utopian" future—where humans are genetically bred and pharmaceutically anesthetized to passively serve a ruling order. A powerful work of speculative fiction that has enthralled and terrified readers for generations, it remains remarkably relevant to this day as both a warning to be heeded as we head into tomorrow and as thought-provoking, satisfying entertainment.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-06-09
მეგონა, რომ მქონდა ადრე წაკითხული, მაგრამ ეხლა წავიკითხე და არაფერი მეცნო... თანაც არც ისე მომეწონა. ჯერ ერთი რომ რაღაცნაირი გულუბრყვილო და პრიმიტიულია, მეორე რომ შექსპირისეული დისტოპიის შექმნის ძალიან აშკარა და მიამიტურად ხელოვნური მცდელობაა. მაგრამ, მესამე და ყველაზე მთავარი - წიგნში არ არის პასუხი შეკითხვაზე თუ მაინც რატომაა ის საზოგადოება მანკიერი და რა რატომ ტეხავს იქ ცხოვრება. ერთი შეხედვით რა უნდა იყოს იმაზე კარგი, რომ შენ საქმეს აკეთებ, სიკვდილის არ გეშინია, გაქვს სექსი ვისთანაც გინდა და ხარ ბედნიერი და როცა გინდა დაბოლილიც? :) ოკ, არ გაქვს ხელოვნება და არ გაქვს რელიგია (იქნებ ძალიანაც კარგი) და არსებობენ კასტებიც (თუმცა ისინიც ასევე ბედნიერები არიან), მაგრამ მერე რა? რაა? წიგნში მოყვანილი მიამიტური არგუმენტი კი არის მხოლოდ რომ: "I'm claiming the right to be unhappy". სასაცილოა ეს.

რათქმა უნდა მაქვს მოსაზრებები, კიარადა არგუმენტები, თუ რატომ არის ძალიან ცუდი ის საზოგადოება. მოკლედ რომ ვთქვათ - ცხოველის ცხოვრებაა ეს, ინსტიქტებზე დაფუძნებული. ხოლო ადამიანის სიცოცხლე ამაოა, როცა თვითშემეცნებისთვის ვერაფერს აკეთებს. მაგრამ ერთია ჩემი აზრი, ხოლო მეორეა როცა კარგი მწერალი წიგნის სახით აღწერს თუნდაც რაიმე კარგად ნაცნობს (ჯობია უცნობს). ხოდა, ამ ფსიქოდელიის მამა ადამიანისგან ცოტა მეტს ველოდი. მაგრამ, შეიძლება მისი ექსპერიმენტები უფრო მერე და მერე გახდა ინტენსიური და საინტერესო, ხოლო აქ ნახსენები მესკალინი და პეიოტი უბრალოდ ანთროპოლოგიური ნიუანსია.

მაგრამ, ისიც უნდა ვაღიარო რომ თანამედროვე საზოგადოებას აქვს ჰაქსლის სამყაროს მახასიათებლები, თუმცა ტოტალიტარიზმის აღწერაში რეალობასთან უფრო ახლოს მაინც [a:ორუელი|3706|George Orwell|https://d.gr-assets.com/authors/1450573063p2/3706.jpg] მგონია.

P.S. [b:კუნძულს|5130|Island|Aldous Huxley|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1375947541s/5130.jpg|3269256] მაინც წავიკითხავ!
Reviewed: 2020-03-20
I had high hopes with this book. But Aldous decided to stomp on it. The idea’s unparalleled. But his way of delivery is a huge failure. He could’ve achieved more if he decided to use a different way of writing. Most of the book is a snooze fest.
Reviewed: 2019-03-29

I don't recall it being so jaunty and funny when I was in school. Great fun, but I do wish I'd read with a class or taken a class, so I'd know better what all the symbols and meanings behind the obvious are.

Reviewed: 2018-11-09

Not much actually happens in the book, despite its length. It was a bit boring and at times was sickening due to the worldview and anthropology of the characters. Overall it was not worth the time to read this.

Reviewed: 2018-06-03
Simply a fantastic read. If you're a fan of dystopian style literature, I recommend this novel as a must read.
Reviewed: 2017-07-10

This book gave me a lot to think about in relation to the nature of happiness and free will and I don't think i'll ever look at the world quite the same after reading it. 

Reviewed: 2016-04-01

This is a "be careful what you wish for" kind of book. I think people wish that society was like this book - always happy, freely sexual without commitments, safe drugs with no consequences, someone happy to do the jobs we don't want to do etc. but I don't think anyone really wants a place like described in this book. I think the best inventions came about because someone was bored or unhappy and wanted things better. I think parents, who may be completely misguided, raise their children better than a lab. However, our kids are wasteful and consumptive and are plagued by FOMO so I guess parents are really not doing any different than in the book. Mostly (and probably by design) this story made me uncomfortable and I didn't like anyone. I hope I am more a "John Savage" person who romance and suffering then Lenina and her careless, entitled lifestyle. But I am probably both - I do love a hot bath and a cheesy movie. 

Item Posts
@giannidb
@giannidb completed #bravenewworld... on 2020-03-11
@giannidb
@giannidb began #bravenewworld... on 2020-03-06
@mitchellcarter
@mitchellcarter completed #bravenewworld... on 2018-09-16
@duanereads
@duanereads completed #bravenewworld... on 2019-07-10
@duanereads
@duanereads began #bravenewworld... on 2019-07-05
@oduelc
@oduelc began #bravenewworld... on 2019-05-13
@worldsapart91
@worldsapart91 completed #bravenewworld... on 2019-02-01
@ellamc
@ellamc completed #bravenewworld... on 2019-03-28
@ellamc
@ellamc began #bravenewworld... on 2019-03-28
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #bravenewworld... on 2008-01-01
@bsorensen96
@bsorensen96 completed #bravenewworld... on 2014-01-23
@robot
@robot completed #bravenewworld... on 2017-04-25
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #bravenewworld... on 2014-03-17
@robot
@robot began #bravenewworld... on 2017-01-02
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #bravenewworld... on 2014-08-11