Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades of Grey)

E L James

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description MORE THAN 100 MILLION COPIES SOLD WORDWIDE NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana's quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too--but on his own terms. Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success--his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family--Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey's secrets and explores her own dark desires. This book is intended for mature audiences.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2016-06-23
I'm so mad at myself for wasting my time.

This book doesn't even get the honour of being the worst book I've read this year. That goes to a historical romance so poorly written that I couldn't tell what era it was set in.

It's not like I hadn't been warned this was a poorly written book. But I was sheltering from a rain storm at my local library when I spotted this. The writing style reminded me of Harlequin Mills & Boon (especially the autocratic & unreasonable hero) I've been known to read these as escapist fiction, so was soon hooked.

But once home...

In her Acknowledgements, James thanks her husband Niall for doing the first edit. First edit? There was more than one? & they miss gems like...

Christian is sitting at a dining table on the other side of the room reading a newspaper. it's the size of a tennis court or something...

Still I ploughed on. But the contract was the last straw. A contract doesn't convey hot, steaming passion to me. Contract conveys disturbed control freak.

I'll stick to watching the movie trailers with the delectable Jamie Dornan.
Reviewed: 2016-06-14
DNF page 165

I had to return this to the library and it gave me the perfect excuse to stop reading.
Reviewed: 2015-07-15

I admit, I bought it to see what the hullabaloo was about, I generally don't read erotica. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but this book was soft porn done badly in ink. None of the main characters rang true, but I especially couldn't get into Anastasia Steele. She flip-flopped from the poor, inexperienced, let everyone boss her around girl to the spoiled brat with an even more spoiled 'inner Goddess'. Not only didn't I find her believable, I didn't like her. I never got the feeling that there was 'more' than what meets the eye and that facts and limp plot twists were merely a way to add words to an otherwise lacking story.

I certainly realize that I am in the minority on this one, but I even went as far as to read the second in the trilogy, Fifty Shades Darker, just to see if I somehow missed something in the first book. Sadly, I didn't.

Item Posts
@lisaw960
@lisaw960 completed #fiftyshadesofgre... on 2017-01-25
@franbrasil
@franbrasil completed #fiftyshadesofgre... on 2012-07-12
@verkruissen
@verkruissen completed #fiftyshadesofgre... on 2012-05-19
@wallacerica
@wallacerica completed #fiftyshadesofgre... on 2014-11-15
@wallacerica
@wallacerica began #fiftyshadesofgre... on 2014-11-14