Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1)

Margaret Atwood
Oryx and Crake is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future. Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and elusive Oryx whom they both loved. In search of answers, Snowman embarks on a journey–with the help of the green-eyed Children of Crake–through the lush wilderness that was so recently a great city, until powerful corporations took mankind on an uncontrolled genetic engineering ride. Margaret Atwood projects us into a near future that is both all too familiar and beyond our imagining.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-08-19
I have mixed feelings about this. There were certain parts that were fantastic but others that I couldn't stand. I almost stopped reading a few times when I got to the child exploitation parts. Not sure if I am going to read the other two in the series. I keep going back and forth about it--I guess it depends on how many scenes of child exploitation are in the other books. It seems like the story is just getting started.

Edit: As time goes on, I am forgetting what I don't like about it and remembering what I do like about it.
Reviewed: 2021-04-10
Not my favourite Atwood book. It's about a man (Jimmy) & a pre- & post-apocolyptic world. Atwood very effectively portrays the depravity of humans, and sometimes it was just plain hard to read
Reviewed: 2021-01-19
Childish, poor. Someone else commented that this is just a weak novel with lots of science words thrown in - and they were right.

You know, I've kinda been ruined: I've read novels by Cormac McCarthy, Donna Tart, Tolstoy, Stanislav Lem, G.G. Marquez. Now books like this - this crap - books like Oryx and Crake, are just weak and silly and boring and childish. I just cannot get anything out of such try-hard rambling tales any more - all the descriptions in the wrong places, pasty weak characters that no one could or should care about.

Reviewed: 2020-08-28
I really really enjoyed this book.
It's interesting because it's told backwards, and I love books that turn convention on their heads. Also I love Margaret Atwood, this is the second book I've read by her, the first being The Handmaid's Tale. I liked The Handmaid's Tale but I loved Oryx and Crake. She developed Snowman's character so well I didn't have any trouble seeing him as a real person. I can't even accurately describe how much I love this book.
If you're wondering whether you should read it or not, I say go for it, it has a very interesting plot line and a short description won't do it any justice.
Reviewed: 2020-07-15
UsedGood
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
read
Reviewed: 2017-03-11

Masterpiece for the science fiction dystopian genre.
-mm

Reviewed: 2016-12-15
This is a wonderful book, filled with imagination, pathos and yearning for understanding. Highly enjoyed every moment of it.

I have a serious problem with those who, like the author, claim that this isn't science fiction because it deals with deeper meaning and philosophy, or it deals with a recognisable dystopia. This book, while excellent, simply can't hold a candle to the likes of "A Canticle for Liebowitz" or "Stand on Zanzibar", really isn't any more intellectual than Charles Stross' "Iron Sunrise" or Ken McLeod's "Star Fraction", and, finally, is out done in terms of a lyrical dystopia by Jeff Noon's "Vurt"
Item Posts
@cs
@cs completed #oryxandcrakemadd... on 2019-08-05
@cs
@cs began #oryxandcrakemadd... on 2019-07-15
@bekahgirl23
@bekahgirl23 completed #oryxandcrake... on 2019-04-08
@bekahgirl23
@bekahgirl23 began #oryxandcrake... on 2019-03-21
@aylai
@aylai completed #oryxandcrake... on 2014-12-23
@aylai
@aylai began #oryxandcrake... on 2014-12-21
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #oryxandcrake... on 2015-04-25
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #oryxandcrake... on 2015-04-25
@meanswell
@meanswell completed #oryxandcrake... on 2015-01-19
@meanswell
@meanswell began #oryxandcrake... on 2015-01-14