Shades of Wicked: A Night Rebel Novel

Jeaniene Frost
In this thrilling new Night Rebel series set in New York Times bestselling author Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress world, sexy and ruthless vampire Ian finally meets his match! The Rule Breaker... Master vampire Ian is unrepentant, shameless…and every shade of wicked. He’s made one too many enemies in his two centuries of existence, including Dagon, a demon who now lays claim to his soul. Ian’s only chance to escape Dagon is to join forces with a Law Guardian, but he's never been able to abide by the rules for long. The Law Maker... Veritas’ normal role is police, judge, and jury to reprobates like Ian. But she has her own ax to grind with Dagon, so if she can use Ian as bait...well, all’s fair in law and war. As they scour supernatural hotspots to perfect their trap, Veritas soon realizes Ian’s carefully cultivated, devil-may-care roguish image hides something much more powerful. And Ian discovers Veritas has shocking secrets of her own. As they’re drawn to each other with a passion as intense as their peril, either love or justice will prevail. But each will have devastating consequences.


Reviewed: 2018-11-06

This is the first book in Frost's Night Rebel series. If you are a long time fan than you know that Night Rebel is a spin off of her Night Huntress series. The main characters for this series is none other than the bad-boy hottie master vampire, Ian and the law guardian with a myriad of secrets Veritas.  Though they are on opposite sides of the law Veritas and Ian team up to take down Dagon, a powerful demon that has tortured them both and has laid claim to Ian's soul.

In truth, this is my first novel by Frost. While she has been on my radar for a while, I hadn't had the chance to read anything until I was sent a copy of this book for review. And I am glad I received a copy. I don't know if this is the best place to start with Frost, but I know you won't be disappointed. 

Having no background knowledge, this was my first time meeting Ian and Veritas. While in the beginning it seems that Ian is world class jerk, it was also obvious that there was more to him than meets the eye. It was also obvious that Veritas had some secrets. This was a little more than your average urban fantasy/paranormal read.  What sets it apart, is not the plot but the characters and creatures that fill this book. The characters and their banter really make this book sing. While I have seen vampires mixed with other creatures before with a variety of powers, I had not seen a half-vampire/half -celestial being/merchant of death/unknown before. 

Ian and Veritas were opposites but not the opposites attract sort or the opposites who can never work together sort, They complemented each other in the subtle ways. While this was the first book in this series, it was packed full of goodness.  The bonds of family, the betrayal of those in power, a budding friendship that blossoms beautifully. All of it is in here. With the added bonus of kick ass fighting and passionate and destructive sexy times. I loved every minute of it. It was an incredible ride and I want more. 

I am only saddened that I will have to wait a whole year for the next book, Wicked Promises (due out summer 2019). But the upside, I can now check out Frost's backlist in the meantime. 

Item Posts
@starrk began #shadesofwickedan... on 2018-11-01
@starrk completed #shadesofwickedan... on 2018-11-06