Champion: A Legend Novel

Marie Lu
The explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogyperfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion?     June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republicand each otherand now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.  

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-14

One of the best last installments to a trilogy I’ve ever read! Marie Lu pulls at your heartstrings in this final installment of the Legend trilogy. I don’t think I’ve ever rooted for a good outcome in a dystopian series in a long time…this falls right into place with John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, even though the main characters aren’t terminally ill, their struggle was and I found myself praying for a good out come for Day and June.

June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. Just when a peace treaty is in the works, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has.

During the final stages of this epic conclusion, Eden, Day’s younger brother is eager to help the Republic try to find a cure to this new plague so that the colonies don’t take over. With time being of the essence, Day and some runners from the Patriots rig the air ship docks to hinder the colonies from taking over. But it seems that the Colonies chancellor has thought a couple steps ahead and forces Day to address the Republic from a colonies airship. Eden’s bloop samples are proving useful to the medics but there seems to be a missing piece to the puzzle. The medics say something that jogs June’s memory to where she come to the conclusion that she is in fact the missing piece to finding the cure to this new plague.

 

The story had a great pace and flow, the characters were compelling in their own ways and I feel this novel was a solid triumph for Marie Lu. I look forward to reading more from her in the future. Although, the ONLY negative thing I can complain about is the overuse of the word “goddy”, I felt it was used way too much in Day’s POV, although I didn’t seem to it as much or even at all in June’s POV, so maybe I’m thinking it just one of Day’s character traits. The ending of the book left me wondering whether or not June and Day really ever rekindled their love for one another…I really hope so, I really want them to end up together.

Anyway, I give this novel a solid 5/5 stars, although the ending left me wanting more, I feel that sometimes it’s good to leave on a pondering note.

 

Reviewed: 2016-07-30

I had lots of trouble finishing this book. The voices of the two characters just didn't hold the same appeal as they had in the first two books.

Reviewed: 2016-05-26
"A knife like this'll skewer food, smear butter, and slit throats all at the same time."

--Day, Champion by Marie Lu

...Perfect thing to say when your feeling socially inept at dinner party with the Chancellor in attendance.

Day and June are so engaging together, you really root for them. This is a mostly perfect ending to perfectly awesome series. I love this series, and I would really like to see a movie made for this series; maybe by the people who have been doing the Hunger Games Series because they have done really well so far with those movies.

Marie Lu is really good at writing action scenes that are easy to follow along with, even for me. I tend to have a hard time with them and sometimes I skim through them because I just can't picture what's happening in my own head.
Reviewed: 2015-08-26
I'm so sad that I finished this series. I'm sad to say goodbye to Day and June. Such an amazing trilogy.
Item Posts
@nickid6
@nickid6 completed #championalegendn... on 2021-09-29
@nickid6
@nickid6 began #championalegendn... on 2021-09-27
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 completed #championalegendn... on 2019-01-01
@quinnhues12345
@quinnhues12345 began #championalegendn... on 2018-11-30
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #championalegendn... on 2014-11-30
@emilieb
@emilieb began #championalegendn... on 2014-11-05
@carmenm
@carmenm completed #championalegendn... on 2018-05-26
@smeegie
@smeegie completed #championalegendn... on 2016-09-26
@smeegie
@smeegie began #championalegendn... on 2016-09-20
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #championalegendn... on 2015-05-14
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #championalegendn... on 2015-05-06
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #championalegendn... on 2014-02-28
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #championalegendn... on 2014-02-15