Curse So Dark and Lonely, A

Brigid Kemmerer
"Absolutely spellbinding." --Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and LegendaryIn a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.Fall in love, break the curse.It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.Nothing has ever been easy for Harper. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.Break the curse, save the kingdom.A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2022-01-10
This book is very good. It took me a long time to hooked on it, but once I was hooked it was pretty quick read. Romance is very good too.
Reviewed: 2021-08-30
3.5 Stars

Overall, surprisingly better than expected. Normally I don't like fairytale retellings, but this one gave each character depth and the twists were good. The first 50 pages were too quick and I was ready to not like the book, but I grew to really like Harper and Rhen and Grey. It was especially interesting to learn about Rhen, since I started out not liking him, but then I realized that was because we really only get his point of view of himself to start, and he hates himself. Once we start seeing him through other eyes, that's when I fell for him, and I realized how sad his chapters really are, because he just hates himself that much for his past actions. A good book overall, and I'm intrigued by the sequel with Grey, if only to see how his story progresses.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.13
Item Posts
@keikoostergard
@keikoostergard completed #cursesodarkandlo... on 2021-02-28
@keikoostergard
@keikoostergard began #cursesodarkandlo... on 2021-02-26
@kirbyb
@kirbyb completed #cursesodarkandlo... on 2020-12-12
@kirbyb
@kirbyb began #cursesodarkandlo... on 2020-12-08
@witchbitch
@witchbitch completed #cursesodarkandlo... on 2019-08-12
@witchbitch
@witchbitch began #cursesodarkandlo... on 2019-08-10
@hsnclr
@hsnclr completed #cursesodarkandlo... on 2019-03-06