Black Moon: A Novel

Kenneth Calhoun
For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Dog Stars, Black Moon is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls “Gripping and expertly constructed.”Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows.  Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world.  Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her.He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness.  Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend.  All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can’t buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had. Kenneth Calhoun has written a brilliantly realized and utterly riveting depiction of a world gripped by madness, one that is vivid, strange, and profoundly moving.From the Hardcover edition.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2016-07-22

I wanted to like this book more than I did. The plot actually really sounded interesting. The idea of society falling apart into madness due to sleep deprivation while those lucky enough to still sleep try to survive it all. The first page started off well. The way Calhoun described the city streets as Biggs made his way to the pharmacy made me think of the game The Last of Us. Which is probably why I really wanted to like it in the first place. It wasn't that it was bad. I just thought it was going to be better.

 

The story is told from the viewpoint of four different people. I, myself, use to dislike changing viewpoints but I got over that long ago. But in this case I found it hard to get into the story at times after a change in viewpoint. Especially when it came to Chase. I found it hard to like him at all. 

 

I was also disappointed with the way the story ended. I guess I was sort of expecting more of a happy ending for all of them. My bad.

 

I'd say give it a shot anyways. It wasn't for me but it might be for others. You never know.

Item Posts
@librarypages
@librarypages completed #blackmoonanovel... on 2016-06-18
@librarypages
@librarypages began #blackmoonanovel... on 2016-05-14