Fahrenheit 451: A Novel

Ray Bradbury
Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future. Guy Montag is a fireman. In his world, where television rules and literature is on the brink of extinction, firemen start fires rather than put them out. His job is to destroy the most illegal of commodities, the printed book, along with the houses in which they are hidden. Montag never questions the destruction and ruin his actions produce, returning each day to his bland life and wife, Mildred, who spends all day with her television “family.” But then he meets an eccentric young neighbor, Clarisse, who introduces him to a past where people didn’t live in fear and to a present where one sees the world through the ideas in books instead of the mindless chatter of television. When Mildred attempts suicide and Clarisse suddenly disappears, Montag begins to question everything he has ever known. He starts hiding books in his home, and when his pilfering is discovered, the fireman has to run for his life.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-05-20

This is one of the best piece of literature I've read in decade. This is not simply a good book in the Speculative Fiction genre, it's a good book across all genre. It has a fascinating idea, a compelling plot, and a sympathetic cast of characters.

The only thing I have issue with is the prose. It get a bit long winded at times, but not so much that detract the overall enjoyment.

For those who are interested, you can read my full review of Fahrenheit 451 here.

Reviewed: 2018-01-05
Nothings wrong with the book, it just wasn’t my style. Read it for mr del Rosario’s class in 10th grade. It placed a high value on books, which was nice
Reviewed: 2017-12-14
I'll admit, I didn't read this book until I was 31. Perhaps, that's why I was able to enjoy it while my 13 year old daughter wasn't. She said it was too metaphorical. I thought the metaphor was beautiful, lyrical, and quite fitting of modern society.
Reviewed: 2017-10-19

This book, along with 1984 and Brave New world were on my "To Read" list since a long time. Finally I read this one. And even though it was short and wasn't as mind blowing as I had expected it to be, it still was much better than most other books I've read so far. For one thing, this is the first book where I have highlighted so many lines and passages. There are some powerful and thought provoking commentary that makes you wonder where are society is going.  

Reviewed: 2017-06-05
Literature, Year 11
Reviewed: 2016-12-06

I 1     890L   GLE 10    (J 3 prior to 11-16)

I2 England

copies

.25  PB    C-D    medium water damage on back and into last few pages...top right quarter area.... 

 

Reviewed: 2016-05-13
A masterpiece about a future that already seems too near, Fahrenheit is an unreplaceable example on its genre.
Item Posts
@ahelms
@ahelms completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2019-04-04
@ahelms
@ahelms began #fahrenheit000000... on 2019-03-30
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2019-03-06
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann began #fahrenheit000000... on 2019-02-21
@ruolivia
@ruolivia began #fahrenheit000000... on 2019-02-21
@spsides6
@spsides6 completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2017-06-30
@danlisa89
@danlisa89 completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-11-02
@danlisa89
@danlisa89 began #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-10-26
@rdennett14
@rdennett14 completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-10-27
@jaytlagged
@jaytlagged completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-08-29
@jaytlagged
@jaytlagged began #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-08-23
@iamthatonechick
@iamthatonechick completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-01-01
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2014-06-16
@emilieb
@emilieb began #fahrenheit000000... on 2014-05-29
@caldwell614
@caldwell614 completed #fahrenheit000000... on 2018-07-01