Help, The

Kathryn Stockett
Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step. Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone. Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken. Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own. Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed. In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women—mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends—view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don’t.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
I read a really fascinating review about this book a couple of nights, before I finished it. The review was not complimentary to the book--which I was, myself, enjoying. I could understand the perspective the reviewer was coming from and tried, as I continued reading, to see the book as that reviewer had. I'm glad to say I didn't get the same vibe as she had. The characters didn't seem flat, one dimensional, nor cartoonish to me.
I'd recommend this book, not as a stunning piece of literature, but as a tribute to a time that has passed and the people who had to struggle through it.
As many other people have noted, the book is immanently readable. The words and story flow and the reader just rides along with it with very little effort.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
First time I read this, I really liked this one and found it a quick, enjoyable read. My book club picked this one up for the month and I just couldn't seem to reread the book. I don't reread too many books-so just me or the book? While the book club was split on whether they liked it, I realized during discussions just how much it depends on an emotional response to the book. Either you're turned off by the book or you fall in love. Give it a shot-it make work for you. Then again, you may end up throwing it across the room also.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
This was an excellent read. It was pretty long at 522 pages, but all of them were worth it. It's a great story about the bravery to tell the story of the accounts of the segregation of black and white in the 1950s and 60s and the maids working for the families in Mississippi. The accounts just seem so incredibly genuine and enlightening. I would definitely recommend to anyone. It's a rich and heartwarming story.
Reviewed: 2017-10-11
I really loved this book. I read it in two nights, and only went to bed the first night because I had to go to work the next day. It's a very powerful book, and I love how the events in it add to and go along with the timeline of the greater civil rights movement. The characters are wonderful and believable, and the whole book feels so individualized and personal that it's very, very moving.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step. Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone. Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken. Minny, Aibileen's best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody's business, but she can't mind her tongue, so she's lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own. Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed. In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women--mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends--view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don't. Editorial Reviews From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. What perfect timing for this optimistic, uplifting debut novel (and maiden publication of Amy Einhorn's new imprint) set during the nascent civil rights movement in Jackson, Miss., where black women were trusted to raise white children but not to polish the household silver. Eugenia Skeeter Phelan is just home from college in 1962, and, anxious to become a writer, is advised to hone her chops by writing about what disturbs you. The budding social activist begins to collect the stories of the black women on whom the country club sets relies and mistrusts enlisting the help of Aibileen, a maid who's raised 17 children, and Aibileen's best friend Minny, who's found herself unemployed more than a few times after mouthing off to her white employers. The book Skeeter puts together based on their stories is scathing and shocking, bringing pride and hope to the black community, while giving Skeeter the courage to break down her personal boundaries and pursue her dreams. Assured and layered, full of heart and history, this one has bestseller written all over it. (Feb.) Copyright ® Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. From Bookmarks Magazine In writing about such a troubled time in American history, Southern-born Stockett takes a big risk, one that paid off enormously. Critics praised Stockett's skillful depiction of the ironies and hypocrisies that defined an era, without resorting to depressing or controversial clich√©s. Rather, Stockett focuses on the fascinating and complex relationships between vastly different members of a household. Additionally, reviewers loved (and loathed) Stockett's three-dimensional characters--and cheered and hissed their favorites to the end. Several critics questioned Stockett's decision to use a heavy dialect solely for the black characters. Overall, however, The Help is a compassionate, original story, as well as an excellent choice for book groups.
Reviewed: 2016-12-17
Simple sober and excellent! Its a book which forces you to read it nonstop. Amazing. Next classic. All the characters and stories are well connected and YES she starts the new chapter at a point where you feel like skipping few pages and want to find out what happened with the character of the last chapter.
Item Posts
@jeshnc
@jeshnc completed #helpthe... on 2019-01-17
@shixam
@shixam completed #helpthe... on 2018-10-31
@shixam
@shixam began #helpthe... on 2018-10-19
@chrisquick
@chrisquick completed #helpthe... on 2010-05-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #helpthe... on 2012-01-02
@nadera1982
@nadera1982 completed #helpthe... on 2012-01-01
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #helpthe... on 2015-07-26
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #helpthe... on 2015-07-20