Wonder

R. J. Palacio
I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse. August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.  In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out. Join the conversation: #thewonderofwonder

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-11-29

This is a wonderful book about how difficult it can be to fit in when you are different.  It is told from different character's perspectives, which helped me understand why certain characters did what they did.

Reviewed: 2018-07-14

Good bzook and relly funny

Reviewed: 2018-06-18

Wonder is a touching story about a boy, that though to medical circuntances, has a deformed face. Although it always gave him certain difficulties it would only get worse as he starts to go to school.

I, personally,loved that you can hear tha story from different points of view and explore more about this wonderful story and learn details along the way.

Although I let a few tears as I was reading this book, I personally hated the ending;it just seems like the usual "happy ever after" type of ending. But of course I cant tell you more since you will have to read it yourself.

Reviewed: 2018-05-07
Wonder is the story of August Pullman, Auggie, a ten-year-old boy who has facial abnormalities. Auggie has been home-schooled but is finally going to be entering the fifth grade at a private school called Beecher Prep. Auggie has to deal with being around more people than he is used to and has to go through a terrible time of dealing with bullies, when he just wants to be a normal kid. This story had me in tears a couple of times actually. I also just finished watching the movie trailer and that also had me in tears. But nonetheless, I will be going to see the movie later today and I’m excited! Auggie is such a great character with a huge heart. Even though the kids in this book are so mean to him, he keeps his head high and doesn’t look down to them. Auggie is the type of person who would give you a million and one chances, no matter how many times you turned your back on him. He’s so sweet and adorable and I can’t see why anyone would bully someone like that. Obviously, I know that bullies exist and in some ways, I think everyone can be considered a bully. I may not have been a bully to someone in high school to there face, but I definitely talked about people and there’s no excuses for that. One part in the book that particularly bothered me was when Auggie and Jack were texting each other and Jack tells Auggie “I would want 2 kill myself if I were Julian ;)” Now, I know that they were joking but I still got a nasty pit in my stomach when I read that. That’s such a terrible and awful thing to say about someone. Even if they are a bully, they don’t deserve that kind of treatment. Nobody does! I really enjoyed reading the book from the couple of different perspectives. We obviously get more from Auggie’s side but it was nice to hear about Jack and Olivia’s side of things. Reading from just Auggie’s side, you wouldn’t know the things that his sister, Olivia, feels about him and her family. This was just a great middle-grade book and I highly recommend it to everyone! I hope the movie turns out good. The movie trailer looked like it was pretty on par with the book. Have you read Wonder? Or seen the movie? What did you think?
Reviewed: 2018-01-01

Loved this book.  It teaches such an important lessons about acceptance, what being brave really means, and peer pressure.   

Reviewed: 2017-09-15
Alfred A. Knopf
Reviewed: 2017-09-11

http://literally.scribd.com/home/2017/9/6/top-reads-for-september

Some stuff about this felt pretty forced. The dog part and the award part didn't feel super well-seeded to me. But I did cry and overall characters had some believable yet unexpected and touching twists. Really enjoyable read with great lesson about empathy.

Overall: Katniss would want August to win The Hunger Games.

Reviewed: 2017-02-09

Author:  

Description:  A boy with a facial deformity goes to school with other children for the first time as a fifth grader.  This hartwrenching tale of coming of age and acceptance brings him from outcast to leader.

Location:  personal library

Reviewed: 2017-01-17

I like this book because of the relationships that it delves into, showing commitment, family and the difficultities of fitting in. It makes your heart swell and hurt at the same time. Jessie L.

Reviewed: 2016-11-08

Wonder is one of those books that you can never seem to put down. Even though the book is a bit long, it doesn't seem so long because of how intriguing it is! This book is about 10-year-old August Pullman who has a face deformity and has been homeschooled his whole life up until now. His mother feels as though that he needs to learn more and face the world where not everyone will be so kind to August because of his appearance. August begins his real school adventure in 5th grade and the book is about all of the obstacles he faces such as making friends and dealing with friends that are one way to him but then talk about August when they aren't with him. This book is truly about the different traits that the main character, August, portrays such as bravery and perserverance. I really like this book because it not only is a good book for pointing out character traits, but it also has some great lessons in it. Such themes in this book are that we shouldn't judge someone based on how they look. We are all unique in our own way and our appearance doesn't make us who we are. This book also shows many different forms of kindness not only from August, but also from his on and off again friend, Jack. 

Item Posts
@chrisquick
@chrisquick began #wonder... on 2018-10-19
@fjnewton
@fjnewton began #wonder... on 2018-08-23
@edensteffey
@edensteffey completed #wonder... on 2017-12-31
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #wonder... on 2014-09-21
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #wonder... on 2014-09-20
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #wonder... on 2017-11-20
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #wonder... on 2017-11-15
@jdetour
@jdetour completed #wonder... on 2018-04-02
@hibam
@hibam completed #wonder... on 2018-03-30
@jdetour
@jdetour began #wonder... on 2018-03-25
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #wonder... on 2018-03-15
@schuhrkereads
@schuhrkereads began #wonder... on 2018-03-10
@azzaraml1006
@azzaraml1006 completed #wonder... on 2018-01-11
@edensteffey
@edensteffey began #wonder... on 2017-12-20
@kylieren
@kylieren completed #wonder... on 2017-11-27