Color of Magic (Discworld, #1; Rincewind #1), The

Terry Pratchett
Terry Pratchett's profoundly irreverent, bestselling novels have garnered him a revered position in the halls of parody next to the likes of Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and Carl Hiaasen. The Color of MagicM is Terry Pratchett's maiden voyage through the now-legendary land of Discworld. This is where it all begins -- with the tourist Twoflower and his wizard guide, Rincewind.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-11-10
It's was all right. Perhaps I just wasn't in the mood for zany satire/farce. I liked the Turtle though.

I know Pratchett has many adoring fans, and I read this on one such fan's recommendation. If another Pratchetteer suggested a better one in the series, I would consider reading it too. But I'm not inclined to seek it out myself.

Does that count as a review?
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
This first volume in the expansive Discworld series may be short, but its many hilarious jabs at epic fantasy tropes pack a punch. Even if you’ve only lightly dabbled in fantasy with hits like Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings, it’s easy to understand most of the satirical jokes in this tale about a failed wizard who’s recruited as a tour guide for an obscenely rich tourist looking for adventure. The charm of The Color of Magic comes both from its zany characters (including a delightful portrayal of Death) parodying well-worn fantasy archetypes, and the lore of the world, which contains a laugh-out-loud Big Bang theory within the first few pages. While The Color of Magic may not be considered the late Terry Pratchett’s finest work, it is the gateway into his most beloved series. On the heels of the last Discworld book’s release, now’s the perfect time to jump in and see what the hullabaloo is all about.

Originally written for Scribd: http://blog.scribd.com/2016/02/04/top-books-for-february-2016/

Overall I liked the beginning the most, the concept of bringing economics and vast wealth that disrupts a system and such. I also liked the part parodying Anne McCaffrey, probably because I've read some Anne McCaffrey before so I felt more "in" on the joke. So fast it's a little whip-lashy at times, but it definitely seems like it needs 40 more books to explore all that wackiness.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I dunno if this is going to be a proper 'review' (heh, as though any of the things that I write in this space are...), it'll likely just be a bunch of randomness and ranting. So, like my usual offerings.

I read Amanda's review (This'un.) and I'm all like "Yep." This is one of those books/series that people love and it makes me want to love it and then I set crazy goals for myself, like reading them... all... in a year... just maybe not this one... and then when the first one ends up NOT being the fucking greatest thing since ever, I feel disappointed. It's unfair. (To me, I mean. I don't care if it's fair to the book if others have set my expectations too high and then it didn't live up to them. It's a book. It doesn't have feelings or a brain and thus cannot understand why it should feel sorry for me.)

But, to be fair to the expectation raisers, I'd also read Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, and I really enjoyed it, so that also tended to set the bar higher and make my fall just that much further. Sadface.

Anyway. So, in a discussion with a friend, she mentioned that "The Colour of Magic is basically a collection of in-jokes about other books." Which goes a long way toward explaining why it didn't work for me.

1) Because, of the authors mentioned whose work is being joked upon or referenced or whatever, I've read very little to none at all, and therefore would be quite the opposite of the intended audience, if, as I would presume, the audience is intended to get the jokes and/or references.

2) I just really dislike this kind of homework prerequisite reading thing. Zelazny did the same thing with A Night In The Lonesome October, and even though I had read much more of the referenced and hinted at works he incorporated into his story, and so should have been more "in the know" and thus able to enjoy it more, I didn't. I don't read that way. I am not analyzing every line looking for something else - I'm looking for the author to tell me a story. And this kind of storytelling is both lazy and too much work at the same time, if you ask me.

Don't get me wrong, I like easter eggs in books. I do. I like little references that people in the know will get and have a little something added... it's nice. I like it. But, in my opinion, it should just be that - a little something nice added. People who don't get the reference should not even notice it, because the story is standing on its own legs and is complete without it. If the story doesn't make sense ON ITS OWN, and if I need to have read an entire genre or two's worth of books just to follow the events in your story - I'm not going to enjoy it. I don't read to interpret A to be a reference to X from book Q and need to know X from Q's history to understand what A is doing in your book. I just want a good fucking story. Tell me one, and get on with it.

But about the book itself, I dunno what to say. It didn't feel like a novel, which was how I approached it, it felt like a set of stories just sharing some characters and a general world setting. I think trying to read it as a novel, looking for the overarching story from page 1 to page 200-whatever, set me up for failure as well. If I had read this as each chapter being a vignette story, that would probably have been better.

Likewise, it just seemed to forget some of the conflicts that were raised. In the beginning of the book, the Patriarch (or whatever he's called) threatens Rincewind with death if anything untoward should happen to Twoflower the tourist... but that passes like a leaf in the wind and nothing ever comes of it and is never mentioned again. In fact, every danger is just gone as soon as its gone. There's no follow-up, there's no consequences... heck, most of the time there's no rational, logical reason that anything happens (or doesn't happen) in the first place. And that is one of my least favorite things. I hate when there are no rules and anything and everything and the kitchen sink are just possible because why not? It's WHIMSICAL! -_-

Grrrrr. So annoying. It was like 200 pages of deus ex machina.

I didn't care about any of the characters I think I was meant to care about. I liked Death, and the Luggage. I was rooting for them both to take their due from Rincewind. Maybe next book. By all accounts, the Discworld books get better, and I'll probably go along and hope for that, but my patience has thinned quite a lot. I'll give this series another chance, but if it continues on this way - with the references and the deus ex machina in place of proper storytelling, and the unfunny (because man, I didn't even crack a smile!), I'm writing it off. Life is too short.

2 Stars for POTENTIAL, and I'm being generous here.
Item Posts
@lindseygump
@lindseygump completed #colorofmagicadis... on 2017-08-29
@lindseygump
@lindseygump began #colorofmagicadis... on 2017-08-26
@faramir
@faramir completed #colorofmagicadis... on 2016-05-12
@faramir
@faramir began #colorofmagicadis... on 2016-04-02