Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos, #1)

Dan Simmons

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-10-05
All of the tales are excellent and the world that Dan Simmons creates through them feels so rich and expansive. My favorite tales are in the order priest > detective > poet > scholar > consul > soldier.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.23
Reviewed: 2021-01-19
Really, a collection of short stories, shoe-horned into a narrative: "Let's tell our stories as we travel". Light hat-tips to the Canterbury Tales. Unfortunately, that's where this book's quality ends.

The characters are two dimensional - like so much sci fi - and each story is worse, lamer, weaker than the last until I couldn't take it any more. I had read over half of it. The over-arching framework is not much either. There is little to recommend this book.... and its Goodreads rating is 4.20 !!

I got sick of being so sick of this crappy book. Why is so much Sci Fi just... shit?

A war story for boys. Good if you don't like heavy literature or to think too much. Otherwise: avoid.


Reviewed: 2020-06-09
If you're fan of sci-fi or fantasy and looking for something fresh, but not just another space /time/planet/star travel story and as epic as classic sci-fi with new breath, including some philosophy and nice storytelling - then this book is for you!

.. and not only. Great adventure for anybody I'd say.
Reviewed: 2020-02-26
why hadn't I read this book earlier and why didn't I buy the next one already??
Reviewed: 2019-09-16
Clearly a classic, and a wonder I had not read it until now.
Item Posts
@martianhippie
@martianhippie began #hyperion... on 2021-08-24
@nantaigne
@nantaigne completed #hyperion... on 2019-07-11
@attawaykl
@attawaykl completed #hyperion... on 2014-09-14
@attawaykl
@attawaykl began #hyperion... on 2014-08-26
@cawilson118
@cawilson118 completed #hyperion... on 2018-01-20
@cawilson118
@cawilson118 began #hyperion... on 2018-01-15