Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter 2)

J.K. Rowling
In one of the most hotly anticipated sequel in memory, J.K. Rowling takes up where she left off with Harry's second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Old friends and new torments abound, including a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, an outrageously conceited professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, and a mysterious force that turns Hogwarts students to stone.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-06-29
Possibly my favorite books of the series. Things aren't too serious or dark yet, but there is plenty of suspense and mystery.
Reviewed: 2020-03-24
I think I liked this one better than the first. I like meeting even more characters and learning more books and subjects!
Reviewed: 2019-05-17
Reading this again, this time in English, I see that I must never judge a book by its translation. The English original of this book feels almost entirely different, and much more engaging, than any of the translations I have read.
So, happily, I read this again because I've recently seen it described as a #YAlit #Whodunit, and decided to look at it as one model for a mystery storyline, as I practice writing in various genres.
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
3
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Excellent series!
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

This is the 2nd installment to Rowling's Harry Potter series, and a solid presence it makes. The novel picks up right where the first one left off, this installment seems more darker than the previous, as Harry receives a warning for Dobby, a house elf, who tells not to return to Hogwarts as bad things will happen. This installment felt a tad more fast paced than the last since there wasn’t as much world building that had to be done. One of the great triumphs this novel makes is giving the readers the riveting backstory to Hagrid on why he was expelled from Hogwarts! We also get to see more character development of Ginny as she has become a very important character in this novel and as well in the future installments. Rowling does not have to try hard to get the readers to fall into the Wizarding World and be completely entranced by the magic she has cast. I am really enjoying being able to read these books for the first time and am loving all the detail I missed from only watching the movies!

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Re-read completed 9/29/13
Mini-review posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide:

Review_graphic

I did a full review of HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCEROR'S STONE but I opened up a new draft to start my review for HP2 and... My mind went blank. It's honestly so hard to write a full review of a book and a series that I've loved and cherished for half of my childhood and all of my adult life so far (it's totally epic) so it's hard to put THINGS down into words, ya know? I think I actually know the series TOO well to write a review because I really know how everything goes!

What I can say is that it's interesting starting over from the beginning. I haven't done that in MANY YEARS because before when I would re-read Harry Potter, I wouldn't necessarily do it in order. Books four, five, six, and seven are my favorites so usually I would just pick those up and re-read out of order since really, I knew the series so well anyway. The first three books are the ones I've re-read the least but the first two are also the ones I think have the closest movie adaptations so with a few minor exceptions, I still knew exactly how it all went.

I'll just briefly recap the things I loved about HP and the CoS here:

•Rule-breaking Hermione with the Polyjuice potion! You go, girl.
•The mild annoyance and mild hilarity that is Gilderoy Lockhart
•Learning so much more about Tom Riddle (and there were more tidbits in the book than in the movie (which that's usually the case, but I thought that was interesting!))
•Watching that best friendship between Harry and Ron really start to develop into a bond that extended beyond Ron and to becoming almost a part of his family

I'm also not a Harry-Ginny shipper so I won't even go there. Their relationship always felt weird to me for some reason -- both books AND movies -- so it's cute to see Ginny acting all love struck around him, but doesn't get me all mushy for the future.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description In one of the most hotly anticipated sequel in memory, J.K. Rowling takes up where she left off with Harry's second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Old friends and new torments abound, including a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, an outrageously conceited professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, and a mysterious force that turns Hogwarts students to stone. Editorial Reviews Amazon.com Review It's hard to fall in love with an earnest, appealing young hero like Harry Potter and then to watch helplessly as he steps into terrible danger! And in J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, the much anticipated sequel to the award-winning Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, he is in terrible danger indeed. As if it's not bad enough that after a long summer with the horrid Dursleys he is thwarted in his attempts to hop the train to the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry to begin his second year. But when his only transportation option is a magical flying car, it is just his luck to crash into a valuable (but clearly vexed) Whomping Willow. Still, all this seems like a day in the park compared to what happens that fall within the haunted halls of Hogwarts. Chilling, malevolent voices whisper from the walls only to Harry, and it seems certain that his classmate Draco Malfoy is out to get him. Soon it's not just Harry who is worried about survival, as dreadful things begin to happen at Hogwarts. The mysteriously gleaming, foot-high words on the wall proclaim, "The Chamber of Secrets Has Been Opened. Enemies of the Heir, Beware." But what exactly does it mean? Harry, Hermione, and Ron do everything that is wizardly possible--including risking their own lives--to solve this 50-year-old, seemingly deadly mystery. This deliciously suspenseful novel is every bit as gripping, imaginative, and creepy as the first; familiar student concerns--fierce rivalry, blush-inducing crushes, pedantic professors--seamlessly intertwine with the bizarre, horrific, fantastical, or just plain funny. Once again, Rowling writes with a combination of wit, whimsy, and a touch of the macabre that will leave readers young and old desperate for the next installment. (Ages 9 and older) --Karin Snelson From School Library Journal Grade 3-8-Fans of the phenomenally popular Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Scholastic, 1998) won't be disappointed when they rejoin Harry, now on break after finishing his first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Reluctantly spending the summer with the Dursleys, his mean relatives who fear and detest magic, Harry is soon whisked away by his friends Ron, Fred, and George Weasley, who appear at his window in a flying Ford Anglia to take him away to enjoy the rest of the holidays with their very wizardly family. Things don't go as well, though, when the school term begins. Someone, or something, is (literally) petrifying Hogwarts' residents one by one and leaving threatening messages referring to a Chamber of Secrets and an heir of Slytherin. Somehow, Harry is often around when the attacks happen and he is soon suspected of being the perpetrator. The climax has Harry looking very much like Indiana Jones, battling a giant serpent in the depths of the awesome and terrible Chamber of Secrets. Along with most of the teachers and students introduced in the previous book, Draco Malfoy has returned for his second year and is more despicable than ever. The novel is marked throughout by the same sly and sophisticated humor found in the first book, along with inventive, new, matter-of-fact uses of magic that will once again have readers longing to emulate Harry and his wizard friends. Susan L. Rogers, Chestnut Hill Academy, PA Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 2000
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Reviewed: 2016-02-26
Gold.
Item Posts
@saklog
@saklog completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-08-23
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-03-05
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-17
@azidearest
@azidearest completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-04-05
@azidearest
@azidearest began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-04-04
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-01-01
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-04-02
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-04-01
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-12-29
@steamtrains
@steamtrains completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-12-23
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-11-29
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-09-10
@makccr
@makccr completed #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-29
@makccr
@makccr began #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-27
@sceadwerhaevn
@sceadwerhaevn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-26