Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2)

J.K. Rowling
In one of the most hotly anticipated sequel in memory, J.K. Rowling takes up where she left off with Harry's second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Old friends and new torments abound, including a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom, an outrageously conceited professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, and a mysterious force that turns Hogwarts students to stone.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.43
Reviewed: 2021-01-27
This is my least favorite Harry Potter book (and second least favorite movie adaptation). Still slaps though.
Reviewed: 2021-01-11
No
Reviewed: 2020-12-20
These books are just so much fun.
Reviewed: 2020-06-29
Possibly my favorite books of the series. Things aren't too serious or dark yet, but there is plenty of suspense and mystery.
Reviewed: 2020-03-24
I think I liked this one better than the first. I like meeting even more characters and learning more books and subjects!
Reviewed: 2019-05-17
Reading this again, this time in English, I see that I must never judge a book by its translation. The English original of this book feels almost entirely different, and much more engaging, than any of the translations I have read.
So, happily, I read this again because I've recently seen it described as a #YAlit #Whodunit, and decided to look at it as one model for a mystery storyline, as I practice writing in various genres.
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
3
Reviewed: 2018-01-14

This is the 2nd installment to Rowling's Harry Potter series, and a solid presence it makes. The novel picks up right where the first one left off, this installment seems more darker than the previous, as Harry receives a warning for Dobby, a house elf, who tells not to return to Hogwarts as bad things will happen. This installment felt a tad more fast paced than the last since there wasn’t as much world building that had to be done. One of the great triumphs this novel makes is giving the readers the riveting backstory to Hagrid on why he was expelled from Hogwarts! We also get to see more character development of Ginny as she has become a very important character in this novel and as well in the future installments. Rowling does not have to try hard to get the readers to fall into the Wizarding World and be completely entranced by the magic she has cast. I am really enjoying being able to read these books for the first time and am loving all the detail I missed from only watching the movies!

Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 2000
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Item Posts
@faramir
@faramir completed #harrypotterandth... on 2004-02-29
@faramir
@faramir began #harrypotterandth... on 2004-02-01
@saklog
@saklog completed #harrypotterandth... on 2015-08-23
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-03-05
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-17
@azidearest
@azidearest completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-04-05
@azidearest
@azidearest began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-04-04
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-01-01
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-04-02
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2000-04-01
@messnamedjess
@messnamedjess completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-12-29
@steamtrains
@steamtrains completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-12-23
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-11-29
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-09-10
@makccr
@makccr completed #harrypotterbook0... on 2018-07-29