Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1)

Jim Butcher
For Harry Dresden, Chicago's only professional wizard, business, to put it mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry's seeing dollar signs. But where there's black magic, there's a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry's name.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-14
Fast paced thriller. Sci-Fi thriller with plenty of humor. I will continue this series!
Reviewed: 2020-01-14
Book one of the Dresden Files series. Harry Dresden is a grumpy, perpetually broke, for real wizard. He doesn't do love potions, perpetual purses or party tricks and he can get into more hot water doing the right thing than most people get into when they go out looking for trouble. Hiis hard-boiled attitude and Jim Butcher's writing style is reminiscent of Sam Spade. A definite must for those who love both mysteries and science fiction.
Reviewed: 2019-08-26
Great book, easy to get into and has a good mix of fantasy. However it is by no means a Hercule Poirot book or the next Sherlock Holmes. I found the book to be very cliche and I guessed the ending during the first two chapters. Great book tho especially for fantasy lovers and I will definitely continue on to read the rest of the series.
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
to-read
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
Quick paced quick read. Fun goodness. With any luck Butcher will love and respect his protagonist more than Hamilton did!
I like a good fantasy "mystery" .... and this was easy to get into and enjoy. I read a lot of stuff that takes a lot of staying power. It's nice to read something pulpy every now and then. ;-)
Reviewed: 2018-04-25

Probably the most cliche detective book I've ever read. I enjoyed it, and maybe one day I'll read the rest, but I think I'll also be okay if I don't. 

Reviewed: 2018-01-25
Was für ein Start! Ein Must-Read der Urban Fantasy.

http://www.weberseite.at/buecher/storm-front-the-dresden-files-1/
Reviewed: 2017-01-15
The first book in The Dresden Files is by no means perfect, but it is the beginning of an excellent series.

If you are not hooked by the first book, but enjoy the premise and characters stick around. The books in the series just gets better and better as the writing, characters and stories develops nicely.
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
1
Item Posts
@amuhs
@amuhs completed #stormfrontthedre... on 2019-12-01
@timmer69
@timmer69 completed #stormfrontthedre... on 2017-02-14
@timmer69
@timmer69 began #stormfrontthedre... on 2017-02-05
@eva13
@eva13 completed #stormfrontthedre... on 2011-01-26
@eva13
@eva13 began #stormfrontthedre... on 2011-01-20