Fool Moon (The Dresden Files, Book 2)

Jim Butcher
Could a werewolf be loose in Chicago? Common sense says no. The grisly evidence says yes. So does Harry Dresden. And with his weird connections, he should know.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-26
It was nice to see you again, Harry Dresden.
This book stands alone better than most "Book 2 of Eleventy Million" books do. I already knew most of the core characters from the first book but I really didn't remember any of them before I picked it up as their general personalities and past interactions are pretty well covered.
The content wasn't too difficult and the writing was easy to process. I am tired of reading "Hell's bells" as an expletive. While the repetition of it was annoying to me, it made sense: People tend to spout the same curses repeatedly in stressful situations.
The story is fairly fun and seems to operate within the realm of its universe's own rules. The book does not suffer from the use of Deus ex Machina*; all of the pieces necessary for the resolution were provided through the course of the story.

*One of my least favorite literary devices.
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
Teil Zwei der Dresden Files: http://www.weberseite.at/buecher/fool-moon-the-dresden-files-2/
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
3.5 stars
This was pretty good, but it didn't have that same "READ ME NOW!" quality that I felt Storm Front had. I didn't want to put that one down. This one, I set down frequently.

I enjoyed it though. I really love Harry. I love his confliction, his do-gooder quality, his chivalry, his sense of humor and his badassity. I love the magic system, and I love how it seems that we're learning a little more about it with each book. I love Bob.

Murphy was again frustrating and annoying. I just really don't get her. I do not get how she linked Harry to the death she thought he perpetrated. I mean really?

I liked the concept of there being different types of werewolves. That was interesting too. Overall I liked it, but not quite as much as the first. Still looking forward to the rest of the series, though. :D
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
2
Reviewed: 2013-04-07
I enjoyed the first Dresden book much more than this one. To me, Fool Moon felt rather "checklisty," like Butcher was making sure we saw every single category of werewolf Bob had mentioned in his discussion with Harry early in the novel. The whole book felt disjointed, in my opinion, but I can't share the prime example without spoiling the climactic scene. Before I started the Dresden series, I was warned by several friends that the first four titles are a bit weak, and then the books improve significantly, so I'll assume this was one of the rough patches and keep going.
Item Posts
@undeadwookiee
@undeadwookiee completed #foolmoonthedresd... on 2019-05-08
@undeadwookiee
@undeadwookiee began #foolmoonthedresd... on 2019-05-06
@timmer69
@timmer69 completed #foolmoonthedresd... on 2017-02-20
@timmer69
@timmer69 began #foolmoonthedresd... on 2017-02-14
@scarlette92
@scarlette92 completed #foolmoonthedresd... on 2017-07-02
@eva13
@eva13 completed #foolmoonthedresd... on 2011-01-28
@eva13
@eva13 began #foolmoonthedresd... on 2011-01-27