1984

Orwell, George
View our feature on George Orwell’s 1984. Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, Orwell’s narrative is timelier than ever. 1984 presents a startling and haunting vision of the world, so powerful that it is completely convincing from start to finish. No one can deny the power of this novel, its hold on the imaginations of multiple generations of readers, or the resiliency of its admonitions—a legacy that seems only to grow with the passage of time.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-12
Very interesting book. Interesting ending as well
Reviewed: 2017-07-10

I admit I only read this at first so people would think I was smart but then I really did enjoy it. It was such a terrifying look into a future we all hope will never come to pass. 

Reviewed: 2017-02-10

I finished this not five minutes ago, and I need to vent my frustration. This book is brilliant. You dare to hope for a happy ending, it allows you to hope, and when it destroys you, you have no choice but to love it.

If I could geek out about Newspeak for three seconds: the fact that your experience of the world is entirely dependent upon your absurdly poor ability to express yourself is fascinating. My heart.

Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.13
Reviewed: 2017-01-12
9789799709095
Reviewed: 2016-11-01
read
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
Really liked this although I honestly didn't know the plot before I read it. It's interesting that this book can be such a large part of our culture without anyone really knowing what it's about. I enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys science fiction or dsytopian literature.
Reviewed: 2016-06-05
I found this deeply interesting. More for what it says about the human condition than anything else. Through the eyes of one man, Winston Smith, it looks at a society that could have been. A world where thought is controlled, where imagination is fettered, where freedom is a word being excised from the dictionary.

It's set in a future that didn't happed, to a degree. We lack some of the overt signs of a dictatorship but sometimes you have to wonder about some of the hidden dictatorships in our world.

It is an exaggeration, it is a moral fable, but it is on some levels very moving. It made me think about restrictions on speech and thought that flows through our modern world. My husband's constant habit of putting the TV on. How much information a lot of countries want to have about us. Stuff that lingers, stuff that makes 1984 scarier day by day.
Reviewed: 2016-05-21

This was...I don't even know what to say yet. This book definitely challenged my way of thinking. I was right there with Winston throughout the first two sections. I'm a rebel in nature and all of his thoughts and actions seemed normal for me. The third section was what really through me through a loop. I'll leave it up to you to discover for yourself, but it was definitely a book that NEEDS to be read.

Reviewed: 2016-03-09
Team
Item Posts
@jmdawes
@jmdawes began #1984signetclassi... on 2017-06-26
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #1984... on 2011-10-16
@cooptriggs
@cooptriggs began #1984signetclassi... on 2017-03-30
@cooptriggs
@cooptriggs completed #1984signetclassi... on 2017-04-30
@tarod45
@tarod45 completed #1984... on 2002-03-18
@jnnica
@jnnica completed #1984signetclassi... on 2017-02-10
@jnnica
@jnnica began #1984signetclassi... on 2017-02-07
@jrbest
@jrbest began #1984signetclassi... on 2015-12-07
@jrbest
@jrbest completed #1984signetclassi... on 2015-12-15
@jrbest
@jrbest began #1984signetclassi... on 2015-12-07
@kknudson15
@kknudson15 completed #1984signetclassi... on 2016-08-13
@kknudson15
@kknudson15 began #1984signetclassi... on 2016-08-05
@sammiemay333
@sammiemay333 completed #1984signetclassi... on 2013-05-19
@sammiemay333
@sammiemay333 began #1984signetclassi... on 2013-05-16
@addizdarevic
@addizdarevic completed #1984signetclassi... on 2015-09-22