Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive), The

Brandon Sanderson
Widely acclaimed for his work completing Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time saga, Brandon Sanderson now begins a grand cycle of his own, one every bit as ambitious and immersive.Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soilless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.It has been centuries since the fall of the ten consecrated orders known as the Knights Radiant, but their Shardblades and Shardplate remain: mystical swords and suits of armor that transform ordinary men into near-invincible warriors. Men trade kingdoms for Shardblades. Wars were fought for them, and won by them.One such war rages on a ruined landscape called the Shattered Plains. There, Kaladin, who traded his medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, has been reduced to slavery. In a war that makes no sense, where ten armies fight separately against a single foe, he struggles to save his men and to fathom the leaders who consider them expendable.Brightlord Dalinar Kholin commands one of those other armies. Like his brother, the late king, he is fascinated by an ancient text called The Way of Kings. Troubled by over-powering visions of ancient times and the Knights Radiant, he has begun to doubt his own sanity.Across the ocean, an untried young woman named Shallan seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure. As she plans a daring theft, her research for Jasnah hints at secrets of the Knights Radiant and the true cause of the war.The result of over ten years of planning, writing, and world-building, The Way of Kings is but the opening movement of the Stormlight Archive, a bold masterpiece in the making.Speak again the ancient oaths,Life before death.Strength before weakness.Journey before Destination.and return to men the Shards they once bore.The Knights Radiant must stand again.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 2/11/17: WHEW, I made it! I listened to the audiobook and it was quite the long journey, but I am all about Michael Kramer so it's totally worth it! It took me over a month (really!?) but I did it!

I think my one... "let down" so to speak (I'm not really let down but I can't come up with a better word right now) of the book is that ALL of the reveals were in the end. So much happened in the last few chapters that it was excitement overload and I would have loved a bit more of that throughout the whole book to keep excitement levels high, but that seems to be an evolution that happens in Sanderson's later works rather than his earlier ones.

My Sanderson theory that the theme of pretty much everyone of his books seems to be something along the lines of (possible spoiler for pretty much any Sanderson book) "the gods are among us" seems to hold true! I figured it was coming, especially considering (more Sanderson series spoilers) everything that I learned (and what all you other people learned who read the Mistborn series before anything else) in the Mistborn series started to really delve into creation theories and history and how all of the Cosmere is connected. I really like it though! I'm catching on to it so it's not as much of a shock or twist to see that coming in the ending of THE WAY OF KINGS (well, I guess it kiiiiind of started that way too) but I'm so, so, so anxious to learn more about it!

The characters in this book were fantastic! I LOVED Kaladin and for some reason I was surprised to see what his role was throughout this whole book. I was expecting a Kelsier sort of situation where his history involved a hardship and he ended up with that as a shadow of his past but really his present ends up being one of his greatest hardships and he's not on anyone's favorable side throughout the book (until he takes matters into his own hands and starts to work on those leadership skills). I basically fell a little bit in love with him and I can't wait to see what his future holds because it looks... bright *snicker*

I also love noble and wise and apparently super important Dalinar. Obviously he's important as a main character but I loved what his fate ended up being and naturally, I can't wait to see what happens to him in the second book and where things go from here. Readers are able to guess at what is happening to him throughout the book but I'm not quite sure what it REALLY means yet and why it's happening to Dalinar.

I wasn't the BIGGEST fan of Shallan but that's also because I didn't really care for her narrator in the audio (not that I have issues with Kate Reading (also how is THAT for an audiobook narrator's last name!?) but meh. Female narrator. And I love Michael Kramer. A lot.) so I didn't get into her character as much. I actually find myself not really liking a lot of Sanderson's female characters except for Vin. I don't dislike them but I just find the male characters much more interesting and apparently prefer their story lines much better. I think part of it is because the women are figuring things out (you go, gals!) and the men are in the action so there's just a bit more draw to some of those action-based scenes.

I'm also enjoying the new world of Roshar and exploring everything that is has to offer! The cultures/races/people are interesting (especially with some recent reveals) and I love learning about all of the different people and places in Brandon Sanderson's worlds. Book two looks like it'll explore that history and creation even more which is totally my fantasy addiction and the reason I can't put Sanderson books down! I haven't felt as connected to a world since Scadrial but they're all quite interesting and I have a feeling I'll be learning much more about Roshar soon!

I don't know why I thought this series was only three books so there goes my plan to binge read them all this year....... Well, I guess I can still binge read them (as long as Oathbringer is still on track for later 2017) but I just won't be finishing the series when I do. Why do I do this to myself??? I'm in the middle of too many Sanderson series. Or rather, he seems to trap us in his series (okay, I'm not really that upset about being in the middle of all of his books) and won't let us go! Just the waaaaait though. I'm so glad I was able to binge Mistborn because this is going to be a long journey with The Stormlight Archive!
Reviewed: 2016-12-15
Wholly enjoyed this book. Loses a star due to the sheer size of the bloody thing. Could probably do with an editor.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
This book. Wow.

I kinda don't even know what to write about this book. The scope of it, the detail, everything is just so... epic. And then I think about the fact that there are a proposed nine more books, and I just...

The EPICNESS.

As I was reading this, I admit to being unable to see how this story, already ginormous all on its lonesome, could expand to a whopping 10 book series and do it well. Keep the pacing, the excitement, the world, the magic system, the awesomenes all consistent.

Oh me of little faith. O_o

This is BRANDON SANDERSON. I should have known better. His leg hath been metaphorically humpeth'd by thy humble review writer thrice previously, and I anticipateth this trend to continueth.

The last 150 pages or so of this book brought things together in such a way that... well, a whole world of possibility has opened up. It seems a bit silly to say that, because a book, any book, EVERY book opens up a universe of possibility just by virtue of what it is... but in regards to my not seeing how this story, which seemed as though it could be a standalone for so much of it, could spawn a potential 9 sequels... the last 150 pages clinched it. And then I went back to the beginning and read the prologue again (having to stop myself from just continuing...) and it becomes clearer just how vast this story could be.

The world-building alone here is fantastic. This whole world, so many peoples and creatures and beliefs and societies, the weather patterns and landscapes and the history... all of it has the feeling of both being barely touched upon and described in depth. I can see it all so clearly in my head, it's almost as if I were there. I need my own Worldsinger to come tell me more. I am so curious and so excited about the scope and depth of this series, I can't even describe it.

And that's just the "background" stuff.

One thing about the beliefs in this book. Religion plays a big part in the daily lives of the characters here, as it did in his Mistborn series as well. If you aren't aware, Sanderson is a Mormon. I don't know anything about Mormonism, but I remember worrying as I was reading the Mistborn series how the religion in that story would be handled. I hate being preached to.

I don't worry about that anymore with Sanderson. I think that the way he approaches religion in his books is intriguing and unique and thought-provoking, but never preachy. These are fantasy-world religion/belief systems that one can think about and take with them as they will, but Sanderson doesn't force or push his beliefs on anyone. And I very much respect that.

The characters in this book... I just have no words. No, I lie. I have a word: Amazing.

But before we get into that, let me tell you about this bad habit I have. I don't read chapter or section titles. There, I said it. It's true. I don't read chapter or section titles. Too often, they give something away, which I really don't like. So I skip them. Which means that, unfortunately, sometimes I miss key things and have to either pick them up elsewhere, or backtrack.

I had to backtrack a couple times while reading this one. There are a lot of perspective shifts, and sometimes they threw me off. A switch to a known character is one thing, but there are these sort of 'intermission' sections with characters that come into the story only briefly to give us something and then leave again.

So, getting back to my point about characters, I was a little thrown off when I realized that the Jezrien and Kalak I'd met in the very beginning (aka: the prologue I didn't realize was a prologue until much later) weren't the characters I'd be following and that the world was very different. One backtrack later, and it makes sense... 4,500 years separation between prologue and chapter 1. Got it.

I have no regrets regarding the characters that I spent the last two weeks with, though. Like I said: amazing. I loved all of these characters. All of them. Even the horrible ones. And the weak ones. All of the characters have such a depth to them. Their lives seemed 100% real to me, as if they could step right off the page (or screen in my case, since I read this whopper on my nook) and into my life.

I cared about these characters. A lot. They live in a world in chaos. They are in the midst of a lingering, brutal war. The seasons are in a constant state of flux. Highstorms are only semi-predictable, but seem to be getting stronger and stronger. There's betrayal everywhere and trust is a luxury that almost nobody can afford. Is it any surprise that I read in this sort of state of constant fear about What Might Happen? It was thrilling, but at the same time, I was a nervous wreck.

I love that feeling... of actually caring what happens to characters. I like exciting books as much as the next person, but if I don't invest anything in the characters that the excitement is happening to, then it's just kind of hollow. Enjoyable? Sure. But forgettable.

I want reading to affect me. I want to feel it. I want my hands to shake, my heart to race, or break, or ache, my eyes to be filled with tears and my stomach queasy with worry. And it was. This book gave me all of that, and more.

The more I think about this book, the more I piece together. The more theories I form, the more excited I get for the next installment. I loved it. Loved it loved it loved it. In case you hadn't noticed.

This feeling that I have right now, this awe and wonder and excitement... This is why I read.
Reviewed: 2015-10-11
4 1/2 stars!!
Item Posts
@maxgezone
@maxgezone completed #wayofkingsthesto... on 2018-01-12
@maxgezone
@maxgezone began #wayofkingsthesto... on 2018-01-01
@d5646w
@d5646w completed #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-11-01
@mello
@mello completed #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-08-20
@mello
@mello began #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-07-29
@jk
@jk completed #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-06-14
@jk
@jk began #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-06-03
@elsabrown
@elsabrown completed #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-01-12
@elsabrown
@elsabrown began #wayofkingsthesto... on 2017-01-09