Lola and the Boy Next Door

Stephanie Perkins
Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the negihborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister's shadow and back into Lola's life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.


Reviewed: 2017-04-21
really wonderful, even better than Anna and the French Kiss!
Reviewed: 2016-02-06
I could not put this book down! I finished it much faster than I anticipated. Lola wasn't nearly as charming and endearing as Anna was, but she was quirky and I still loved her. Cricket Bell... I don't know who I love more Etienne St. Clair or Cricket Bell (okay yes I do... it'll always be Etienne, but Cricket is amazing in his own right). I like that both Etienne and Cricket have passions for things that are related to learning. Etienne has history and Cricket has inventing and science. All through the book I wanted to shake Lola and tell her "Go for Cricket! Cricket! Cricket!" Normally Max would be a boy I'd be into, but he just wasn't all that attractive (which was the point). I'm not super pumped to read Isla and the Happily Ever After. I hope we have even more Anna and Etienne in Isla's book and more Cricket and Lola. I especially want to see Anna and Etienne again. They were a pleasant addition to this book.
Reviewed: 2015-08-27

Nope. Not really liking it. I'm so sorry guys... :( Yes, it's funny and entertaining but nope. I actually expected too much from this book because I really love Anna and the French Kiss, but Lola... I don't know if it's me or anything but I couldn't connect with Lola's character.

I get it that she wants to be different that's why she chooses to wear out-of-the-ordinary costumes but I think it kind of disturbs me. I also don't like the way she acts immature most of the time. And there's this self-centered attitude of hers that did not also sit well on me. Also, I hate the way she overreacts to anything. And she cries a lot, too, which annoys me.

Cricket-- this guy is a promising character, yet I didn't find myself swooning over him. The good thing about him is that he's too good and perfect-- way too good for Lola to the point that I pity him most of the time because he's always there for her, chasing after her, and almost crying his feelings out loud for her, but Lola continues to get confused even if her boyfie is clearly a bad influence.

I know most of you really love Lola and the Boy Next Door, but for me, it's kind of overrated, I guess. There are things that are cliché and unrealistic. The plot is also predictable and I think there aren't any interesting scenes that made me totally swoon-- which are the things that I'm really expecting in a contemporary book. But as a whole, it's an entertaining read. Not as good as Anna and the french Kiss, though.

My Rating for this book: 2 Stars

Book review also posted on my blog:

Reviewed: 2015-01-02

After reading Anna and the French Kiss I knew I needed more of Stephanie Perkins, man was it the smartest thing to do when I purchased both of these at the same time to not have to wait for the other. Now I just need to get Isla and the Happily Ever After. I loved that throughout Lola's story we still saw a little bit about Anna and Étienne, I love them together. I also love the Lola's story and I love her dads, I love that Stephanie makes the characters so relatable, they aren't these perfect people that get everything they want in a romance, there is a struggle and thats how the real world is. Thats what I enjoy in a good contemporary, thats why I love Stephanie Perkins.I know that after finishing up I'm going to need more and more, because besides Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins is right there on my favorite contemporary authors. Truly a great love story, I flew right through this and if you love a good contemporary romance and you love Anna and the French Kiss,pick this up asap. I know I didn't regret it!

Reviewed: 2014-12-31
So.... I don't usually enjoy romance novels. Like at all. In my opinion, they have the potential to be cheesy, over-the-top, and unrealistic. But not Stephanie Perkins's novels. She always captivates me in her stories, weaving a beautiful web of believable characters and settings that ACTUALLY play a role in the story. Paris. San Francisco. And, while this wasn't as spectacular as Anna, this one will still make an appearance on my favorites list. (FIRST REVIEW ON LIBIB. AWESOME!)
The second book from the Anna and the French Kiss series by Stephanie Perkins was honestly my least favorite of the trilogy, manly because I couldn't really relate to the main character Lola. Especially in the beginning I had a tough time getting into the story but it got better and better towards the end. What I really did like about this books was that we get to read more about the main characters from the first book Anna and Ètienne
Item Posts
@jamiefillbrandt began #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-07-25
@jamiefillbrandt completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-07-26
@erynf15 completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2017-04-21
@jamiefillbrandt completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-07-26
@erynf15 began #lolaandtheboynex... on 2017-04-20
@kassidyschnoop completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2016-09-04
@kassidyschnoop began #lolaandtheboynex... on 2016-09-02
@kassidyschnoop completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2016-09-02
@sadiegator completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2016-07-21
@booklover23 completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2013-04-20
@marsftw completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-06-04
@circaway completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-12-21
@circaway began #lolaandtheboynex... on 2015-12-20
@bnsimpler94 completed #lolaandtheboynex... on 2014-02-09
@bnsimpler94 began #lolaandtheboynex... on 2014-02-04