Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances

John Green, Lauren Myracle, Maureen Johnson
Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you see only in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss from a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks. Thanks to three of today’s bestselling teen authors—John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle—the magic of the holidays shines on these hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and breathtaking kisses.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Only read the John Green story but it's all good because he is clearly amazing :) It was cute and had me laughing out loud.
Reviewed: 2016-01-15
This book was really cute. I loved the Christmasy setting and how all the stories came together in the end. My favorite story was definitely Maureen Johnson's because her characters were so quirky and adorable. John Green's was my second favorite because I loved the Waffle House adventure and the characters. My least favorite was Lauren Myracle's. I didn't like this one as much as the other two because I didn't care for the main character or her friends as much as the other characters in the previous stories. My favorite part of her story was the end when the other characters showed up, which shows that her characters weren't as strong or lovable as the others were.
Reviewed: 2015-01-05
It's more of a 4.5 stars than 4 stars. This is just what I needed to kick off the month of December! The stories are filled with cute romances and heartwarming moments. I'm not really a seasonal reader, but I've been curious with this book for a while since I often see it when I go to bookstores. It's a perfect book to cuddle with in your blanket while sipping hot chocolate. It's kind of sad that I live in a tropical country (I love winter so much!), but I can still do those things and pretend that I'm reading while it's snowing outside haha :D The stories are written by three authors and nicely intertwined at the end. I can really feel the Christmas vibe while reading the book. I like the fact that the blizzard turn out be a miracle for the characters instead of tragedy. There's a good mix of stories in this book, from cute, funny to self discovery. The first story is Maureen Johnson's story titled The Jubilee Express. This is about finding the right person that actually understand and love you for who you are. The story begins when Jubilee is going to go to Florida to stay with her grandparents. However, there's a big blizzard and the train got stuck in the snow. She took shelter in the Waffle House not far from where the train stopped and there she met Stuart Weintraub and the story goes from there. This is my favorite out of the three because it's just plain cute and adorable. Although she just met Stuart, they instantly had a connection together. I guess it's mostly because he had a similar experience like Jubilee hence he got her better as a person. Other than the cute storyline, it's also very funny. There's one line in the book that make me laugh so hard:
"Debbie had to get up and slice me a thick piece of cake before she could answer. And I do mean thick. Harry Potter volume seven thick. I could have knocked out a burglar with this piece of cake. Once I tasted it, though, it seemed just the right size.”
Story number two is A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle by John Green. You can immediately tell that this is his story. His writing is very distinct. For the plot, it's about three best friends: JP, The Duke (Angie) and Tobin. While they were watching a marathon of James Bond movies, their friend, Don Keun, called them to come over to the Waffle House because they have cheerleaders there (boys will always be boys). While they were aware that there's a huge blizzard outside, they decided to go there anyway to make their Christmas more interesting. Along the way, they endured some obstacles, some sad and some funny. As you can probably tell, the prominent theme of John's story is adventure. It's fun to read what they have to go through just to get to a restaurant. In typical John Green fashion, the story is hilarious and full of wit and sarcasm.
"Your mom calls more than a clingy boyfriend."
Lines like this is quintessential John Green. He knows how to make readers laugh. His sense of humor is just so great. In addition to the adventure theme, it's also talked about love. What I can get from the story is that sometimes we don't realize that the person that we care for is right in front of us. I love the fact that Angie is considered one of the boys and she insisted that she also need to be looked as a girl. I haven't really read this kind of friendship in a book before and it adds a nice element to the story. As for the relationship, it's very sweet and heartwarming. Although the story is fun and funny, I have to admit that I liked Maureen's story more. However, it's just by a tiny margin. I love both of the stories equally. The third and final story is written by Lauren Myracle and it's called The Patron Saint of Pigs. This focuses on Addie who just "broke up" with his boyfriend, Jeb. This is my least favorite story out of the three. I have problems with the main character, Addie. She's very annoying and selfish. In the book she said that she wants Jeb to do romantic things to her. While there's nothing wrong with that, she needs to understand the other person. Every person's PDA is different and she shouldn't force him to be something that he's not. It will be unnatural to him. She needs to be more considerate and don't always think about herself. This is why I deduct 0.5 stars from the rating. While I can relate to what she was feeling, she shouldn't be egoistic and made everyone around her frustrated. That's what I get from this story. In a relationship, there's always give and take. Both sides of the couple need to cooperate with each other to make a relationship work. I'm glad that she resolved everything in the end but it's a bit annoying that it took many people to tell her that she was wrong. As for teacup pig element, it was cute but I thought it was a bit random. There's nothing wrong with it, it's just a bit out there and it didn't really add anything to the plot line. And sadly, the story itself isn't as interesting as the other two stories. Sorry Lauren :( All in all, this book was a great contemporary read. I will definitely read this again next year to prepare me for Christmas. I'll close this review with a quote from Lauren Myracle that I think it's perfect for this festive season:
"Christmas is never over, unless you want it to be. Christmas is a state of mind."
Item Posts
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2013-01-07
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2017-12-30
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #letitsnowthreeho... on 2017-12-23
@amandaemma
@amandaemma completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2013-12-15
@amandaemma
@amandaemma began #letitsnowthreeho... on 2013-12-10
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2016-01-15
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #letitsnowthreeho... on 2016-01-07
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2016-01-15
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2016-01-15
@elizabethvictor
@elizabethvictor completed #letitsnow... on 2015-12-24
@khalesiey
@khalesiey completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2013-12-26
@khalesiey
@khalesiey began #letitsnowthreeho... on 2013-12-22
@bbotsford1
@bbotsford1 completed #letitsnowthreeho... on 2015-03-11
@bbotsford1
@bbotsford1 began #letitsnowthreeho... on 2015-03-09