Rainbow Fish, The

Marcus Pfister
The Rainbow Fish is an international bestseller and a modern classic. Eye-catching foil stamping, glittering on every page, offers instant child-appeal, but it is the universal message at the heart of this simple story about a beautiful fish, who learns to make friends by sharing his most prized possessions, that gives the book its lasting value.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-10-03

This book would teach them it's ok to be different. We are all special 

Reviewed: 2021-08-11

#therainbowfish the beautiful rainbow fish thought he had to be beautiful because of his scales but he learned that by sharing he became beautiful inside and out. 

Reviewed: 2021-07-11

This book was an amazing read as a child and still as an adult! Love the pictures and Colors! Children will have a joy reading this!!

Reviewed: 2021-04-25

Great illustrations, I loved this book as a child!

Reviewed: 2020-10-18

Such a beautiful children's book. Kudos to the author for all of the lovely illustrations. I remember this book when I was a child and always enjoy looking through it at all the colors. Kids of all ages will enjoy this beautifully simple story!!

Reviewed: 2019-11-30
Simon and Schuster
Reviewed: 2019-02-05

Review: This story is about the Rainbow Fish who has multicolored scales, with special shiny scales among them, which he is very proud of. One of his small fish friends asks him to have one of his special shiny scales, to which he rudely says no. All the other fish are very sad that he will not share with them, and do not want to be friends with the Rainbow Fish anymore. The Rainbow Fish visits the wise octopus, who tells him to give each of his friends one of his shiny scales, because even though he will not be the most beautiful fish in the see any longer, he will learn to be happy. When the Rainbow Fish sees the small fish again, he gives him one of his shiny scales, and then gives one to each of his other friends. At the end, he only has one shiny scale, but becomes very happy at seeing the joy of his other fish friends.

Strengths: The story is illustrated with deep, bold watercolors and shiny irridescent patches of paper to show the Rainbow Fish's shiny scales, engaging the reader. The story also has a clear theme of giving and helping others.

Limitations: The story can come across as vain, in which the Rainbow Fish is only caring about his looks, and not the other fish. The plot can also be a bit confusing for readers, with some vague language.

Instructional Goals: This story can be used to show the joy of friendship, and how being a good friend can brighten your day and make you feel better. It can also be used to show children how to be a good friend by sharing with others.

Perspectives: The perspective of students who feel different or lonely can be represented by the Rainbow Fish's appearance and experiences with friends. Although, students who do not have a strong self worth can be further discouraged by the vain feelings of the Rainbow Fish.

Item Posts
@joyyeo
@joyyeo completed #rainbowfishthe... on 2021-11-26
@joyyeo
@joyyeo began #rainbowfishthe... on 2021-11-26
@ashleystevens1
#rainbowfishthe is a wonderful, colorful book that teaches kids about kindness and friendship, and making others happy can make you happy!
@sheon1993
#rainbowfishthe This book was amazing to read as a child still amazing to read as an adult. A perfect read for children to learn!!
@stephanies23
#rainbowfishthe A familiar book from my childhood. I love the concept of sharing also feeling left out. This book is a great read for kids.
@sooeyb
#rainbowfishthe ... has vivid pictures to show the main concept of the story ( the fish) helps children to enjoy looking at the pictures
@stephii94
#rainbowfishthe I chose this book because it's best known for its message about selfishness and sharing.
@carlinaguthrie
#rainbowfishthe teaches children about selfishness and sharing. Teaches students about being unique and loving themselves. Activity R.B fish
@miasmitt
#rainbowfishthe story about learning to share freinship and happiness. Great for young children with pretty pictures!
@charismajuell
#rainbowfishthe My teacher used to have us color the scales on the fish and name it. I would probably do the same I loved this book as a kid
@sdeutscher
#rainbowfishthe The moral of this book is to always share and you will have the best friendship and happiness. Award winning book.
@markestes
#rainbowfishthe A good activity for this is have the children color in their own fish
@dangelakmw20
#rainbowfishthe I read this book growing up. It is a very colorful book for children.
@brttnybrn
This book teaches children how to share. #rainbowfishthe
@giannitutt
#rainbowfishthe shows that material things really have no value if you don't have friends to share them with.