Perks of Being a Wallflower, The

Stephen Chbosky
Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion marks the stunning debut of a provocative new voice in contemporary fiction: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. This is the story of what it's like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie's letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. Through Charlie, Stephen Chbosky has created a deeply affecting coming-of-age story, a powerful novel that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller coaster days known as growing up.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-01-13

** spoiler alert ** Unpopular opinion time: This is a very rare case for me but I felt the movie was better. I don't know. I just felt kind of let down by the book. I don't know if it was the narration, the format, what but it just didn't have the same impact on me that the movie did. It was good, I just didn't feel like it was amazing as everyone said it was. Like who was Charlie writing to this whole time? And what happened to Charlie at the end? Depression? Craziness? ... I feel like I missed something major in this book that would've made it better for me. 

Reviewed: 2018-07-28
I think my favorite thing about this book has to be that the main character, Princess Cimorene, doesn't like the standards set for princesses. Everything that she wants to do "isn't done" and it's all stuff that a princess could do if she wanted to. I like that she stood up for what she wanted and what she believed in, instead of letting herself be forced to conform to what is expected of her. Since this is a middle-grade book, I think it teaches an important lesson to the youth that Disney's princesses lack. That you don't need a prince to rescue you and that you can do what you enjoy, without someone else always there telling you that you can't.
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Didn't get the ending at first but now it makes perfect sense. I know I'll be thinking about this book for a while; Charlie was such a loveable character :)
Reviewed: 2018-03-22
Great book. I'm not sure how to describe it. Though cognitively speaking, there has never been a viable evidence for repressed memories, which makes the end of the book psychologically unlikely; but there has been so much to it that I cannot describe as less than amazing!
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Just bought this at the thrift store! (2/22/14)
I read it as an actual teen (borrowed it from my neighbor) and with the movie coming out last year, I need to reread sometime soon!
Reviewed: 2017-11-17
Easily the most moving story I've read (or seen) in the last decade. Such a powerful gift. I love and appreciate it more than I can say.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Lots of truths in this book. Glad it wasn't black and white, like many YA stories (there are bullies, and nerds, and that's it, right?). But I couldn't quite grasp what was up with the narrator. He's a genius writer but writes like this? Hm. Okay.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
I have a feeling that the younger you are, the more spectacular you'll find this book.

I loved the free and easy way that it was written, almost stream of consciousness. I loved the way that the author *said* some things. On the whole, though, I found it to be overly melodramatic and self-admiring book. If you want to read real teen angst, read the books that Charlie read. This one misses the mark, in my opinion.
Amé este libro. Me hizo añorar mis años adolescentes, y se sintió tan real, tan auténtico. También me hizo sentir un poco triste: ¿ cuantos adolescentes hay como Charlie, que sólo pueden hablar con un amigo imaginario?
This book sucked me in completely from the first few pages. I almost dreaded finishing it because I knew there would be no more once it was done. I cared so much for these characters that their emotions and their journey became my own. They were about as close to Real as fiction can get. But I was pleasantly surprised in the end. I wasn't sad that it was over really because I was happy where the characters were left. I'll not spoil it for you though. That should be your own journey. For anyone who ever was a Wallflower, or even for anyone who was ever close to a Wallflower, I highly recommend this book! Because we are infinite :)
Item Posts
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2020-01-13
@ladyofletters
@ladyofletters began #perksofbeingawal... on 2020-01-11
@emcee88
@emcee88 completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2012-12-08
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2018-07-28
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #perksofbeingawal... on 2018-07-28
@iamthatonechick
@iamthatonechick completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2018-01-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2012-07-24
@bashfulbiblio
@bashfulbiblio completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2016-02-22
@bashfulbiblio
@bashfulbiblio began #perksofbeingawal... on 2016-02-18
@schoate02
@schoate02 completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2017-12-26
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2012-07-01
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak began #perksofbeingawal... on 2012-06-16
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2017-08-30
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #perksofbeingawal... on 2017-08-28
@celipal93
@celipal93 completed #perksofbeingawal... on 2017-02-18