Invisible Life of Addie Larue

V E Schwab

Reviews

Reviewed: 2022-01-02
This book felt like it was written just for me. It was the perfect recipe of epic and tragic, the perfect combination of joy and sorrow, and the perfect balance of compact and infinite. I adored it. There is a lot of criticism about "rule changing" but I have never minded that in my fantasy. There's a bit of that in a lot of my favorites - including Harry Potter - so I was able to move past that just fine :)
Reviewed: 2021-12-16
The ending blew me away. The idea of her story being out in the world as the ultimate token of love is just perfect. Each character in the story is sympathetic (except Luc) and the way the story twists and turns is just so good.
Reviewed: 2021-08-13

I am nearly through reading this book that has at times left me wishing it would move at a faster pace. As I have progressed, so it is coming together in an absorbing tale of a woman who sells her soul to avoid getting married in 1714. She is then destined to live until she surrenders her soul. It traces her life from France through Europe to the United States over three centuries and with that I will say no more. The book is descriptive in developing some intriguing characters and characteristics of spirituality that touches on some historic events, regretfully without enough detail for my liking. It is suspenseful and takes time to develop but becomes intriguing the further you read. I do recommend it to others. - Edgar W. Fentum

Reviewed: 2021-08-11
Please tell me there will be a sequel!!!!
Reviewed: 2021-07-17

This book was entertaining, entwining, entrapping, and enthralling. I love the twists and turns that kept it attached to my hands and my head trapped inside.

I read this book for my book club on Facebook, Monthly Book Club :books:

Reviewed: 2021-07-05
Slow read. Liked the writing style of this, even if it felt a overwrought at points (or great affectation?) Great premise and lots of it is beautifully written - phrases that can literally be plucked out and savored. A good one to slow read and get buried in. Would love to have experienced more mid-history of Addie/Luc.

A few pet peeves: Didn't love that the name of the book was incorporated, so much use of the green eyes/dark curls description for Luc, urban fantasy tropes - leather boots, "bookish"-nes
Reviewed: 2021-05-30
I just had a very emotional reading binge of the end of this book. I seriously was sobbing as I was finishing up painting a bedroom wall as my husband looked at me like a crazy person. This book has such complex characters and they way it's written is beauty itself. I cannot say enough that this book is worth the read. Addie LaRue is worth knowing and oh do I hope she stays in your soul like she will mine.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.38
Reviewed: 2020-10-31

I have mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, the writing was beautiful. I loved Addie as a character. But, and maybe this is just because I don't read much adult fiction, it felt like it had no plot. It was just winding bits of story put together. I also didn't particularly care about Henry. And I would have liked to see a lot more of Luc. I feel like this is more of a "it's not you, it's me" situation given how many other people are raving about this book, but it wasn't my cup of tea.

Item Posts
@baileyboo0625
@baileyboo0625 completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-01-26
@baileyboo0625
@baileyboo0625 began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-01-26
@dellapes
@dellapes completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-04-05
@dellapes
@dellapes began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-03-14
@faramir
@faramir completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-06-10
@meganyoung814
@meganyoung814 completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-06-09
@joybancroft
@joybancroft completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-10-24
@faramir
@faramir began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-05-19
@mrfiles
@mrfiles began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-04-21
@mrfiles
@mrfiles completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2021-04-27
@tween2teenbooks
@tween2teenbooks completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-10-11
@kirbyb
@kirbyb completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-10-18
@kirbyb
@kirbyb began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-10-12
@asuozzo
@asuozzo completed #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-12-28
@asuozzo
@asuozzo began #invisiblelifeofa... on 2020-12-20