Book Thief, The

Markus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Possibly one of my most favorite authors ever :)
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
I actually didn't even finish the book. I got about halfway through it, put it down to read another book I was really interested in, and didn't have the heart to come back.

The plot wasn't terribly dull but I felt the book was way too long for the story. I was almost halfway though at around 215 pages and I felt like the end was nowhere in sight. I don't have any issues reading long books, but the plot was moving too slowly and the action was not enough to keep me reading. I just really felt like it would take me too long to read the book so I put it up on swap for someone else to enjoy that it may be better suited for. Hope other enjoy it more than I did!
Reviewed: 2017-11-03
Review coming soon.
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.36
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
Highly popular book about a young girl's coming of age during Nazi Germany and her experiences. I initially wasn't intending to read it, but eventually the hype and a sale convinced by to buy it.

Narrated by an unusual choice of character (I have to use that term very loosely I must admit), the book follows Liesel through her fostering, making friends (or not), the lives of the people around her through the end of the war and the Allied bombings of her country. Although this book is obviously very different than from say Anne Frank's diaries, it still packs a punch, especially since the reader knows how this story will likely end.

I have mixed feelings. For a while I enjoyed reading it, but towards the middle/end I began to feel it began to needlessly drag on a bit. I realize the war went on for several years, but I couldn't help but feel the author was deliberately dragging out the story or somehow was trying to make the reader care more for some of the other characters. The narrative devices used by the author also took a bit of getting used to, although I wouldn't consider it a negative as others do.

I was a little frustrated at some of the loose ends of some of the characters. One character disappears for parts of the book and it's not until the end we find he survived the war. But it's unclear what happened to him post-war, as well as with the other characters. I realize most of them don't really need closure or a follow-up, but I thought that was a bit lacking. Especially when you consider who the narrator is and what knowledge the narrator possesses.

Overall I enjoyed it, but I thought the author could have used better editing. It's a thick read, suitable for a long commute or a plane ride. It's also not a happy read, although I would not say it needs tissue boxes as other reviewers have indicated.
Reviewed: 2015-07-04
I "stole" this book from a friend!!! haha I really love it
I found this book to be long and bland. I realised about a quarter of the way through that the book is actually targeted to teens - so maybe that explains the low level of complexity. There is no doubt the author can use language quite well - it's beautifully written. And the idea of telling the story using Death working in Nazi Germany as the narrator is clever. But it is not used to its potential. The narrative arc is incredibly slow and the whole book is pitched at the same level of intensity. I had to really persevere to finish it. I found the inserted bits of "information" a bit pretentious and unnecessary, interrupting the flow of the reading. I can appreciate the creative intention behind the writing, but it could have been so much better - a couple of hundred pages shorter would have helped. I'm a bit surprised that the book is so popular. I'm glad I've finished it!
Item Posts
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-03
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #bookthiefthe... on 2011-09-03
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-27
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-17
@stacymichelle
@stacymichelle completed #bookthiefthe... on 2013-12-03
@stacymichelle
@stacymichelle began #bookthiefthe... on 2013-11-18