Book Thief, The

Markus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-01-21
Once I got used to the different style, I was completely engrossed. There were tears. 4.5 stars.
Reviewed: 2021-01-19
Main problem: it was boring.

Second problem: flat, like someone with absolutely no talent had insisted on trying to write a REALLY BEAUTIFUL book... and failed. It is almost clumbsy in its plainness. And completely derivative of a million other children in war books.

Not powerful, not beautiful, not important. How did *anyone* give this five stars?
Reviewed: 2020-09-19
This was hauntingly beautiful. I think death as a narrator was unique and also added a way for Zusak to let you see what else was going on in the world. I found it a little slow at first, but then it really picks up. The foreshadowing helps you prepare for what's coming, but I still suggest Kleenex for the last few chapters of the book.
Reviewed: 2020-09-19
This was hauntingly beautiful. I think death as a narrator was unique and also added a way for Zusak to let you see what else was going on in the world. I found it a little slow at first, but then it really picks up. The foreshadowing helps you prepare for what's coming, but I still suggest Kleenex for the last few chapters of the book.
Reviewed: 2020-06-29
Heart-breakingly beautiful. I read it in high school and just re-read it this summer, and the writing simply blows me away.
Reviewed: 2020-06-17
I loved this. This story exemplified why I love reading books so much in the first place. This story was so amazing, it almost makes me sad that I'm finished with it...I didn't want it to end!

This never once felt like a young adult novel to me. I think I will even hold off a couple years before letting my daughter read it, just to ensure she can grasp it fully. I have read SO many books about the Holocaust and WWII, yet this was so original. Having Death itself narrate the story was fascinating, and I loved how it was told through a German family's perspective.
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Possibly one of my most favorite authors ever :)
Reviewed: 2015-07-04
I "stole" this book from a friend!!! haha I really love it
I found this book to be long and bland. I realised about a quarter of the way through that the book is actually targeted to teens - so maybe that explains the low level of complexity. There is no doubt the author can use language quite well - it's beautifully written. And the idea of telling the story using Death working in Nazi Germany as the narrator is clever. But it is not used to its potential. The narrative arc is incredibly slow and the whole book is pitched at the same level of intensity. I had to really persevere to finish it. I found the inserted bits of "information" a bit pretentious and unnecessary, interrupting the flow of the reading. I can appreciate the creative intention behind the writing, but it could have been so much better - a couple of hundred pages shorter would have helped. I'm a bit surprised that the book is so popular. I'm glad I've finished it!
Item Posts
@saklog
@saklog completed #bookthiefthe... on 2014-03-02
@amraos
@amraos began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-04
@amraos
@amraos completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-13
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-03
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #bookthiefthe... on 2011-09-03
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-27
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-17