Book Thief, The

Markus Zusak
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery. . . .Set during World War II in Germany, Markus Zusak’s groundbreaking new novel is the story of Liesel Meminger, a foster girl living outside of Munich. Liesel scratches out a meager existence for herself by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist–books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement before he is marched to Dachau.This is an unforgettable story about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-05-22
This book is a

tear beggar
heart trampler
astonishment maker

and of course wor(l)d shaker.

Read on your own risk. But read it.
Reviewed: 2021-04-27
This book was very boring, I am very unsure as to how it became a New York Times bestseller. It also annoyed me because the author was lazy and decided to write a "historical" fiction book that takes place in a town that never existed during WWII. Zusak, research is not hard stop being lazy!
Reviewed: 2021-01-21
Once I got used to the different style, I was completely engrossed. There were tears. 4.5 stars.
Reviewed: 2021-01-19
Main problem: it was boring.

Second problem: flat, like someone with absolutely no talent had insisted on trying to write a REALLY BEAUTIFUL book... and failed. It is almost clumbsy in its plainness. And completely derivative of a million other children in war books.

Not powerful, not beautiful, not important. How did *anyone* give this five stars?
Reviewed: 2020-09-19
This was hauntingly beautiful. I think death as a narrator was unique and also added a way for Zusak to let you see what else was going on in the world. I found it a little slow at first, but then it really picks up. The foreshadowing helps you prepare for what's coming, but I still suggest Kleenex for the last few chapters of the book.
Reviewed: 2020-09-19
This was hauntingly beautiful. I think death as a narrator was unique and also added a way for Zusak to let you see what else was going on in the world. I found it a little slow at first, but then it really picks up. The foreshadowing helps you prepare for what's coming, but I still suggest Kleenex for the last few chapters of the book.
Reviewed: 2020-06-29
Heart-breakingly beautiful. I read it in high school and just re-read it this summer, and the writing simply blows me away.
Reviewed: 2020-06-17
I loved this. This story exemplified why I love reading books so much in the first place. This story was so amazing, it almost makes me sad that I'm finished with it...I didn't want it to end!

This never once felt like a young adult novel to me. I think I will even hold off a couple years before letting my daughter read it, just to ensure she can grasp it fully. I have read SO many books about the Holocaust and WWII, yet this was so original. Having Death itself narrate the story was fascinating, and I loved how it was told through a German family's perspective.
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Possibly one of my most favorite authors ever :)
Item Posts
@saklog
@saklog completed #bookthiefthe... on 2014-03-02
@amraos
@amraos began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-04
@amraos
@amraos completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-05-13
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-03
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #bookthiefthe... on 2017-03-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #bookthiefthe... on 2011-09-03
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-27
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #bookthiefthe... on 2016-02-17