Handmaid's Tale, The

Margaret Atwood
In the world of the near future, who will control women's bodies?Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are only valued if their ovaries are viable.Offred can remember the days before, when she lived and made love with her husband Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now....Funny, unexpected, horrifying, and altogether convincing, The Handmaid's Tale is at once scathing satire, dire warning, and tour de force.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-09-22
I will admit I was a bit disappointed with this one. It was on my TBR for so long and I was really looking forward to it but it was just meh overall. I didn't hate it but didn't love it. Loved the tv series...
Reviewed: 2019-02-10
Dystopian world. Too real with today's culture
Reviewed: 2019-01-12
read
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
The entire time I was reading this book, I was sick. Initially from a sinus infection and now with strep throat--probably. So I've fallen into it instead of a textbook because I'm not really up to the focus required to study
It's really disturbingly timely. And what a terrifying world. Supposed moral superiority justifying slavery beyond belief, dehumanization to the point of utter idleness. I don't actually know how to express how this made me feel. The right poison in the right ear for long enough and we might not tumble into Gilead but something even worse.
Read this.
Reviewed: 2018-12-04

Good plot, and very well written, but incredibly slow paced and over detailed. We ended up forcing ourselves to read it and decided that's not the kind of book we wanted to be reading. Will finish it on our own time.

Reviewed: 2018-06-30
Margaret Atwood at it again with her open-ended endings! I should've known better after the Netflix show Alias Grace. This book was dark, twisted, sad, and yet a page turner. I think maybe it's because you keep reading hoping for a certain outcome. It was certainly an interesting book with good commentary on relationships and social patterns. But would I recommend it? Probably not. I wouldn't want to put someone through the sadness.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29

The thing you need to read before we enter Donald Trump's America, no matter how you feel about the election results, or abortion. Written so damn well. I've never read Margaret Atwood before and felt pretty ashamed by it and damn was this a mistake.

Note: I've written longer thoughts about this for Scribd, but they haven't been posted yet.

Overall: Oh, it's playing in the same ballpark as The Hunger Games. Or rather... you know.... the other way around.

Been on a continuous dystopian marathon including 1984, Fahrenheit 451, Brave New World, A Perfect Day, and finally The Handmaid's Tale. Perhaps I wasn't in the right mood, or perhaps it was self-inflected genre-overkill, but unfortunately the story didn't do it for me at all.
Item Posts
@baileyboo0625
@baileyboo0625 completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2017-09-09
@baileyboo0625
@baileyboo0625 began #handmaidstalethe... on 2017-09-09
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #handmaidstalethe... on 2021-08-05
@jmarrie93
@jmarrie93 completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2021-01-09
@jmarrie93
@jmarrie93 began #handmaidstalethe... on 2020-12-27
@ellamc
@ellamc completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-09-09
@ellamc
@ellamc began #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-09-09
@ellamc
@ellamc began #handmaidstalethe... on 2016-01-04
@mnakashige
@mnakashige completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-05-18
@sdeveritt
@sdeveritt completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-04-11
@sdeveritt
@sdeveritt began #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-02-28
@mnakashige
@mnakashige began #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-05-01
@mayerris
@mayerris completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-04-21
@mayerris
@mayerris began #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-04-17
@deelinnea
@deelinnea completed #handmaidstalethe... on 2019-03-27