As the Shadow Rises

Katy Rose Pool
Six of Crows meets Graceling with a dash of Winter is Coming in Katy Rose Pool's second installment of the action-packed and swoon-worthy Age of Darkness series--As the Shadow Rises. The Last Prophet has been found, yet he sees destruction ahead. In this sequel to the critically-acclaimed There Will Come a Darkness, kingdoms have begun to fall to a doomsday cult, the magical Graced are being persecuted, and an ancient power threatens to break free. But with the world hurtling toward its prophesized end, Anton's haunting vision reveals the dangerous beginnings of a plan to stop the Age of Darkness. As Jude, Keeper of the Order of the Last Light, returns home in disgrace, his quest to aid the Prophet is complicated by his growing feelings for Anton. Meanwhile, the assassin known as the Pale Hand will stop at nothing to find her undead sister before she dies for good, even if it means letting the world burn. And in Nazirah, Hassan, the kingdom-less Prince, forms a risky pact to try to regain his throne. When the forces of light and darkness collide in the City of Mercy, old wounds are reopened, new alliances are tested, and the end of the world begins. The Age of Darkness trilogy is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes. * "Adventurous relic-hunting, mind-blowing twists, budding love, and terrible betrayals feature in this multiple-narrator, character-driven study of power, agency, and identity and the ways these are affected by the interwoven threads of both history and legend." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review Praise for There Will Come a Darkness "Reading this intricate YA fantasy, you get the feeling Katy Rose Pool's plot is always seven steps ahead of you. You'll want to catch up as quickly as possible." --Refinery 29

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-10-31

First off, I am an idiot who thought this was the second book in a duology, not a trilogy. I thought I was finishing a story, not getting the middle of one. This is totally on me, but it did mean that my expectations while reading it were slightly off.

There were definitely POVs I liked more than others in this book. I think I particularly enjoyed Ephyra's and Anton's. I wasn't as interested in Hassan, though part of that was that he didn't interact with the other characters and his arc felt disconnected from the rest of the story for much of the book. It was interesting to see how some characters blossomed into who they were meant to be while others devolved in a way. There were some reveals that I predicted and others I totally didn't see coming.

My big question with this world involves the setting. If you look at the map, it is pretty clearly the eastern Mediterranean. The Pelagos Sea is the Aegean. The Kingdom of Herat is Egypt, and the Lighthouse of Nazirah is the (now destroyed) lighthouse of Alexandria. Pallas-Athos is Athens, and the Temple of Pallas is the Parthenon. Other areas and monuments also seem to have connections to real-world places and objects. My question is multifaceted. Is this a fantasy world with the geography/architecture of the Hellenistic Aegean? Or is it supposed to be our world super far in the future, where there's now magic? Setting and world building is something I pay a lot of attention to in fantasy, and I can't help but feel that the setting is purposeful. I really hope my questions are answered in the next book. There's been a ton of world building for some of the in-world religion and history, so I'd really like to know more about the ties to our world.

Item Posts
No posts