Lauren Oliver
They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever. And I’ve always believed them. Until now. Now everything has changed. Now, I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.


Reviewed: 2016-01-19

One wonders why more teens don't get infected before their procedures.  Must be the segregation -- no school dances, no opportunity for fraternization and all that.  But apparently (SPOILERS SWEETIE) there are after-curfew parties happening in deserted neighborhoods.  Yet this minor rebellion rarely apparently leads to outright resistance.  I'm curious to see where this series goes before I pass too much judgment.


Reviewed: 2015-01-23
I absolutely love the concept of this story and can't wait for the next book but it was a little predictable
Reviewed: 2015-01-02

 I am completely and utterly amazed by this book, I really loved it! It was such a unique concept. I actually did like Lena, even though she was so weak at first its like such a great character development, from being this weak girl so brainwashed by this horrible society to finally resisting and doing what she wants. I also loved Alex, he was what Lena needed, that little push to as she says "wake up". Now I know I'm a little late to this but after reading this, I saw the pilot for the show and I recommend to anyone who has not read the book, please do not watch the pilot. It pretty much shows the major parts of the book, so it will be a big spoiler if you do watch it before you read. I am really upset they aren't going to continue with the show because I have just became a BIG fan of the Delirium series and I cannot wait to read the rest of the books! That ending though... I could've done without. I'm just here, hoping for the possibility that it just isn't how its left off. Please pick this book up, its AMAZING. 

Reviewed: 2014-05-24

As with her previous novel, Before I Fall, Lauren Oliver has created a story for young adults rich with emotional depth and a sincerity that never rings false or feels falsely promoted. Whether detailing the friendship between two young women or narrator Lena's unfolding to romantic love, Oliver takes her time to ensure that the scenes arrive with vivid description and an emotional truth. Her recreation of Portland, Maine is detailed enough to inspire readers to scan maps for street names and landmarks, while her take on a future that surgically manipulates the emotional capacity of adults is all too plausible. Delirium may not feel as wrenching as Before I Fall, but it misses none of its depth of craft or obvious love for character.

Item Posts
@fireflyslocket completed #delirium... on 2017-08-06
@fireflyslocket began #delirium... on 2017-07-09
@aemostrom completed #delirium... on 2016-01-16
@aemostrom began #delirium... on 2016-01-05
@solsticechild completed #delirium... on 2015-03-15
@solsticechild began #delirium... on 2015-03-12
@hallwaysoralway completed #delirium... on 2013-07-09
@sestrasbaugh completed #delirium... on 2013-09-16
@sestrasbaugh began #delirium... on 2013-09-07
@misskaelyn began #delirium... on 2015-04-01
@yashiramariex completed #delirium... on 2014-07-28
@yashiramariex began #delirium... on 2014-07-19
@verkruissen completed #delirium... on 2011-06-04