Grave Peril (The Dresden Files, Book 3)

Jim Butcher
In all his years of supernatural sleuthing, Harry Dresden has never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone postal. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone-or something-is purposely stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? If Harry doesn't figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-14
I have read both good and bad reviews of the Dresden Files. It must be that these books are just right for me. I find myself laughing with Harry. Actually waking other people up kind of laughing. Jim Butcher allows Harry to be likable, fallible, and heroic. I should just go out, buy the rest of this series, and binge read it. I can't wait to see what happens next!
Reviewed: 2019-12-27
Okay, I'm currently addicted to these books. I have number 4 in my hand already.
Reviewed: 2018-12-26
This latest installment was not bad. I'm still tired of seeing "hell's bells"...
The whole series Is man fluff...
Reviewed: 2018-06-03
The book was okay, but the plot was only mildly interesting. Also, I'm not a big fan of magic bullet endings, even in the cases where the story's protagonist is a wizard.
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
can't wait for the next Dresden File...

http://www.weberseite.at/buecher/grave-peril-the-dresden-files-3/
Reviewed: 2016-07-12

Book 3 of the Dresden Files finds Harry Dresden, Chicago Wizard Extraordinaire, fighting alongside Michael Carpenter, a Knight of the Cross, to keep the cities restful undead from crashing through a diminishing barrier between the Nevermore and the real world.  Author, Jim Butcher, does an amazing job blending an enormous amount of creatures when doing his world building, and many of them show up in each of his books. I could quickly see that he had put in plenty of research time in this one, and found myself sneaking glances at Google just to find out more the setup for some of his characters.

The story is brisk, and you quickly bounce between several different frying pans and fires. The buildup occurs throughout the entire book, but the climax was pretty blatantly foreshadowed, deadening the excitement some. Butcher is one of my favorite reads for the big twist at the end, but this one fell short of his usual, which is still enough to keep him ahead of the average writer.

Harry’s development to be central to the series storyline. He is apparently getting stronger in each book, but other than the sheer repetition of the spells, I am missing where the increase in powers is coming from. His mentor/sidekick/Encyclopedia of Magic hidden in a skull with glowing eyes Bob, shares important information and develops potions with Harry, but I think the hints at Harry’s ever increasing power must be foreshadowing for later books where it is explained in more detail.

 

I would recommend this for all the now adult Potter fans that are looking for the magic to continue without all the teenage angst. I would also put an age warning on the story, some of the scenes get steamy, and may not be something that you would recommend for younger readers, send them to the aforementioned Potter series. There are 15 books in the series, and I am sadly only on number 4, but would still safely mention this to anyone looking for a great urban fantasy story, to add a bit of magic to their dreary days, and aren’t afraid of the monsters lurking in their Nightmares.  

Item Posts
@amuhs
@amuhs completed #graveperilthedre... on 2020-03-20
@amuhs
@amuhs began #graveperilthedre... on 2020-03-17
@timmer69
@timmer69 completed #graveperilthedre... on 2017-03-01
@timmer69
@timmer69 began #graveperilthedre... on 2017-02-20