Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood, Book 1)

Charlaine Harris
Visit our Sookie Stackhouse series feature page. Sookie Stackhouse is just a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. Until the vampire of her dreams walks into her life-and one of her coworkers checks out.... Maybe having a vampire for a boyfriend isn't such a bright idea.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-06
Originally read in before 2013 and in 2013

Reread December 2018: it's not as good as I remember it. But it's still okay. Noticed some different things now. Like how shallow Sookie is and all the sexist remarks and slutshaming. I think I'd give it 3 stars now.
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
this book was amazingly bad at parts. The writing is some of the most rudimentary I've ever seen. but the plot was ok. and the 3 stars is mostly for the fact that True Blood is an amazing TV show. this is pretty much trash, though. lol.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Definitely different than the TV show (which I also like) so it made for a very interesting read! Lots of little variations that helped me not get bored with it. Pretty quick read and nice first installment to the series.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
Good mindless chic-lit entertainment. I read a few of these and found them highly enjoyable. What fun!
Entertaining, and I could relate to her portrayal of a small southern town.
Item Posts
@bookgirl19
@bookgirl19 completed #deaduntildarksoo... on 2018-04-10
@bookwoodbooks
@bookwoodbooks completed #deaduntildarksoo... on 2017-03-17
@bookwoodbooks
@bookwoodbooks began #deaduntildarksoo... on 2017-01-21
@circaway
@circaway completed #deaduntildarksoo... on 2015-11-25