Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Benjamin Alire Saenz
This Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-05-23

"This book was beautifully written! It explores friendship and identity in an untraditional way. There were a lot a surprises throughout it, too."

- Ms. King

Reviewed: 2019-05-03

This unabridged audiobook in mp3 format was read by Lin-Manuel Miranda. There are no background effects besides the music at the beginning, but they are not needed and the sound quality is excellent. His stage experience is obvious as throughout the reading his pronunciation and volume were always on point. He also utilized pitch and speed while reading to differentiate between speaking characters. These voice effects not only helped to engage the listener, but also aided in understanding of the context. In parts of the book, Spanish phrases and words were used. Though my Spanish is practically non-existent, I was able to understand the sentiment of the words based on Miranda's inflection and the surrounding context. I found myself to be completely lost in my listening experience. In this piece of realistic fiction, subtext is king. It's clear that the parents in the book are wiser than the kids. They see where Ari and Dante are headed long before the boys do. The author's ability to build honest and believable characters helps the reader to empathize with all of the characters, even when they are being stupid. The coming-of-age theme mixes well with the likes of family, culture and sexual discovery. Nothing feels wedged in or out of place. Dante's struggle with being Mexican American feels true. Saenz presents two points-of-view from young men growing up Mexican American. Though this, he respectfully shows differences and similarities in Mexican American family life. The settings all match the trappings of a high schooler's life, and help to create a full world for the reader to explore. It's his style though, that really ties everything together. Phrases like, "I bet you could sometimes find all the mysteries of the universe in someone's hand." were everywhere. The parts I read in print, I read much faster because I wanted to know what happened so badly, but the parts which I listened to allowed me to rest on the words and have a more intense experience. Either way, I felt every emotion through Saenz's words, and I recommend this book in print and audio formats for any YA collection.

Reviewed: 2019-02-26
I've almost memorized it. x'D
Reviewed: 2018-08-09

This book is so great. omg ALL OF THE FEELS
So I had been wanting to read this one for awhile now and then I finally gave in and got it on Audible. It was even better cuz Lin was narrating it and he's so great himself. This book had everything, I went through all of the emotions, crying, laughing, shock, anger, disbelief. Everything. I am going to recommend this book to everyone because everyone needs to read it. It's so important.

Reviewed: 2017-02-26
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is a phenomenal book about love, family, friendship, and finding yourself as you grow up. I would highly recommend this book to anyone looking for diverse characters or strong family involvement.
Reviewed: 2016-11-18

In literature, a foil is a technique used by the author to create a contrast between characters. In Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Sáenz, Sáenz demonstrates how a foil beautifully frames an endearing relationship between Ari and Dante. Secrets and silences are undercurrents that set each of the major characters into a tailspin, but towards the end, secrets are revealed and silences are turned into speech. Everyone carries secrets and silences as a means to defend their identity and integrity.  There were major events in the novel that eventually shaped the relationship between these Mexican Americans teens.  A car that almost his Dante but Ari stepped in was broke his legs and one arm;  the imprisonment of Bernardo (Art’s older brother)  because he killed a transvestite prostitute which Ari’s mother refuses to talk about why her oldest son in jail; Ari’s father inability to talk about the emotional and psychological scars brought upon him for being a soldier in the Vietnam War, Aunt Ophelia’s suddenly died due to a stroke and this incident revealed to  Ari that his aunt had a long-term romantic relationship with another woman; Dante leaving to Chicago with his family as his father was offered his job; Dante admitting to Ari that he is beginning to have desires to kiss other boys and asks Dante to kiss him so he can experience kissing a boy;  Dante away, Ari experiments with pot and engages in relationship with women, in particularly with Iliana; after the school ended, Dante returns back and starts a relationship with Daniel, a co-worker, one day while kissing, Dante was assaulted and ended up in the hospital, similar to when Ari was in the hospital after he was hit by the car; the ultimate ice breaker is when Ari mother convenes a family meeting in which his father reveals a war story that has haunted, and his revelation allowed Ari to understand the reason for his sometime irrational or erratic behavior with Dante was because he too was in love him. The end of the novel, bring them both to the desert, where their friendship really took shape, and Ari intentionally kisses Dante and clasp his hands.

 

Aristotle and Dante does not read like a novel that would be a part of an ELA curriculum.  Rather it would seem more appropriate in an American Studies course, a class the gives the educator the flexibility to merge adolescent societal issues with literature.  The novel merges important issues that reflect contemporary teens such as, cultural and racial identity, sexuality, family, death, criminality, war acceptance, stereotypes, and other important issues that shape the texture and tone of a teenager’s life.  Another placement for this novel would be relevant between a school counselor/therapist/psychologist or social work and student. Aristotle and Dante could be given to a student, especially a Latino/a if sh/e is in the process of coming to accepting the sexual orientation. Reading the novel will provide an opportunity for the student to project her or his emotions with the objective of validating them and by extension validating their personhood. 

 

Reviewed: 2016-08-23

i just finished reading Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.

and yes, i was crying.

and yes, this is definitely one of my favorite books ever.

why?

i instantly fell in love with both, ari and dante.

ari is such a beautiful, complex character with so many different layers. the way he perceives the world and the people around him is so special. he felt so oddly familiar to me, as if he was a person i had known for years. kinda weird, i know.

but also how he changes throughout the book. you can feel that he's done with hiding and finally starts embracing who he is. and all that change and character development he goes through are my favorite aspects about him.

dante is simply precious to me. i love dante. he has something so light about him. when i think of dante, i think of blue skies and white clouds and warm summer days with just a hint of a breeze.

i love the way he's uncensored and how he's not afraid of his feelings, unlinke ari he doesn't bottle things up, he speaks them. for him there is no point in hiding his feelings, because he feels them, they are real, they are true and it is what it is. why hide? and i think that exactly this trait makes him such a beautiful character. he doesn't hide from anything. he builds no walls around himself. he is honest with others but also with himself.

i could go on and on about how much i love dante but i won't. i don't want this review to become a book itself.

conclusion:

if dante makes me think of a blue summer sky covered with white clouds, then ari makes me think of warm summer rain which makes you want to go outside barefoot just so you can feel the drops on your skin.

and you know what happens when it starts raining while the sun's still shining.

Reviewed: 2016-08-16

Highly recommended!! 

This is a well-written and lovable book. The characters of Ari and Dante and witty, sweet, flawed, and real. As the reader, you get to watch their friendship unfold at a time where their sense of self is also unfolding, and their own understanding of their sexuality. Their friendship builds naturally and organically, and Benjamin Alire Saenz seamlessly takes you through the story of this young love. The writing is beautiful and the attention to detail adds a charming intricacy that brings his characters to life.

Item Posts
@dsantana3758
@dsantana3758 completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-09-13
@dsantana3758
@dsantana3758 began #aristotleanddant... on 2017-09-12
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #aristotleanddant... on 2019-07-28
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #aristotleanddant... on 2019-07-28
@rikikikitaco
@rikikikitaco completed #aristotleanddant... on 2019-05-01
@rikikikitaco
@rikikikitaco began #aristotleanddant... on 2019-04-24
@amraos
@amraos completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-06-19
@amraos
@amraos began #aristotleanddant... on 2017-06-19
@needallthebooks
@needallthebooks completed #aristotleanddant... on 2018-03-17
@needallthebooks
@needallthebooks began #aristotleanddant... on 2018-03-02
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-06-25
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #aristotleanddant... on 2017-06-16
@elysianreader
@elysianreader completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-07-27
@snitchbooks
@snitchbooks completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-11-18
@aylai
@aylai completed #aristotleanddant... on 2017-11-11