How to Win Friends & Influence People

Dale Carnegie
For more than sixty years the rock-solid, time-tested advice in this book has carried thousands of now famous people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives. Now this previously revised and updated bestseller is available in trade paperback for the first time to help you achieve your maximum potential throughout the next century! Learn: * Three fundamental techniques in handling people * The six ways to make people like you * The twelve ways to win people to you way of thinking * The nine ways to change people without arousing resentment

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-01-26
Probably one of the most interesting non-fiction books I will ever read. Another name for this book could be "A Guide to Diplomacy". It took basic concepts and showed how to apply them in a practical way. I didn't have the discipline to read each chapter twice, like it suggests, but I think I will be copying down the principles from the end of each chapter. Amazing that a book originally published almost 100 years ago is still just as applicable today. I think anyone and everyone could benefit in one way or another from reading this book.
Reviewed: 2017-09-18
Fairly obvious points made; uses solely white men (mostly himself or dead ones) for anecdotal evidence; difficult time getting through book- EN 18sept2017
Reviewed: 2017-03-14

Honestly, I was disappointed in this book. I've been wanting to read it for years and was under the impression that it was a book that had changed people's lives. However, what I found was a book that seems to focus more on tricks and superficial gestures than on real insight into developing friendships and relationships that matter. The author's focus on tyrants such as Andrew Carnegie and Henry Ford as persons to emulate undermines the message. I'm glad I read the book since it's a classic, but I can't say I took much away other than to recognize that this kind of superficiality not only exists in today's world but has been promoted by Carnegie and others for decades.

Should've been called 'How to be selfish and always look out for your own interests all the while manipulating people, but doing it sincerely'
Item Posts
@dplynn86
@dplynn86 began #howtowinfriendsi... on 2019-03-06
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #howtowinfriendsi... on 2015-10-19
@sailorjessy
@sailorjessy completed #howtowinfriendsi... on 2017-12-09
@quiqsilvre
@quiqsilvre completed #howtowinfriendsi... on 2017-08-30
@quiqsilvre
@quiqsilvre began #howtowinfriendsi... on 2017-08-21
@nickstapleton
@nickstapleton completed #howtowinfriendsi... on 2017-01-09
@nickstapleton
@nickstapleton began #howtowinfriendsi... on 2017-01-03
@bounket
@bounket completed #howtowinfriendsi... on 2015-11-09
@bounket
@bounket began #howtowinfriendsi... on 2015-11-01